When Art Meets Programming: 20 Beautiful Illustrative Examples From My Education Experience

in #art6 years ago

Hi, everyone! As some of you might already know, I'm an international student living in Aalborg, Denmark. My bachelor study programme is called 'Medialogy' (short for 'Media Technology') and revolves around such fields as programming, sketching, 3D modelling, and human-computer interaction.

In my spare time I have tried to use the tools and lessons I've learned from my education provided at the university thus far in creating as many animations as possible. This is where I like to say that art meets programming and creativity kicks in a very mesmerising way.

Therefore, I though it would be a great idea if I could share with you 20 animations that I made using Java as programming language in Processing. You can have a look at some frames from these animations below. I sincerely hope you'll enjoy their design.

1 - Abstract art animation

Animation 8.jpg

2 - An animated analogue clock that I made in my very own style. This is a screenshot of only one frame from the animation as each time the clock ticks it changes colours.

Animation 0.jpg

3 - My version of Pink Floyd's frontal cover of the critically acclaimed 'The Wall' released in 1979

Animation 18.jpg

4 - And, of course, a metaphor for the 'Dark Side of the Moon' (or just as Gerry O'Driscoll, the doorman at the Abbey Road Studios where the Floyd recorded this monumental album in '73, said: 'There is no dark side of the moon, really. Matter of fact, it's all dark.')

Animation 17.jpg

5 - My version of Pink Floyd's legendary frontal cover of the 'Dark Side of the Moon' released in 1973

Animation 16.jpg

6 - Abstract art animation

Animation 1.jpg

7 - Abstract art animation

Animation 2.jpg

8 - Abstract art animation

Animation 3.jpg

9 - Abstract art animation

Animation 4.jpg

10 - Abstract art animation

Animation 5.jpg

11 - Abstract art animation

Animation 6.jpg

12 - Abstract art animation

Animation 7.jpg

13 - Abstract art animation

Animation 9.jpg

14 - Abstract art animation

Animation 10.jpg

15 - Abstract art animation

Animation 11.jpg

16 - Abstract art animation

Animation 12.jpg

17 - Abstract art animation

Animation 13.jpg

18 - Abstract art animation

Animation 14.jpg

19 - Abstract art animation

Animation 15.jpg

20 - Circle recursion

Animation 19.jpg

Last but not least, I would very much like to know what are your thoughts on these animations that I made. I'm looking forward to receiving your feedback as soon as possible! Thank you.

P.S.: My two next personal ambitious projects will be designing two more album sleeves of Pink Floyd, namely those of 'The Final Cut' and 'Animals'. I'm well aware that this will be quite though, especially while 'Animals' is concerned, but I have no doubt it will be very much rewarding in the end. I truly hope I will manage to do them in the future and share them afterwards. :)

Sort:  

Some nice images here, No. 15 is my favourite. Keep up the good work :)

Thank you very much for your kind thoughts. Much appreciated. :)

Some really great work there..are these generated with a script?

These animations are based on Java code in Processing, which is a free tool for programming.

Congratulations @vikthor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @vikthor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64207.05
ETH 3065.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87