Sort:  

It has been, very beautiful and decorative.

You just planted 0.17 tree(s)!


Thanks to @viking-ventures

We have planted already 3772.72 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 25698.95
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Your brush calligraphy is so wonderful. I can read them well. I've never met the second American who loves Chinese art like my late American husband, but it seems you are the second. ( I don't know why he was attracted by the traditional Chinese art so deeply.) He loved to learn the brush calligraphy, although he was a little puzzled by the stroke order I think.
I am a native Mandarin speaker. I wish I can answer your question. In China, we call "belief" as 信仰, so "belief" is also made up of 2 characters. 相信 is a verb, 信仰 is a noun in Chinese. 信 can be both a verb and noun. As usual, most modern Chinese words are made of 2 characters. Like we say "hope" as 希望.

Well, it was worth a shot, lol. I suspect it might be one of those cases where the other part isn't commonly known/used - but would be very, very enlightening, I'm sure!

I tend to think that perhaps I was in China in a previous life. I had a proper deja vu moment years ago, the first time I saw Chinese lanterns being released into the sky. And I know I hadn't seen them before in this life!

Another thing I love that is Chinese is mahjong, both as the solitaire game, the bigger game and as an oracle. I find it very natural for me. I'd love to learn it well enough to be able to write the second guide to the oracle in the English language - the first one has some gaps that annoy me.

Thank you for stopping by and commenting - it means a lot to me.

Thanks for the mention @viking-ventures. And thank you for sharing this with us.
You really did a good job with this painting!! Even the Chinese words are written well!

As for your question, I think someone had answered you. The Chinese word is an amazing language, but sometimes it's hard for me to explain as well, due to the complexity of it.

i think sometimes, the "why" is shrouded in history, especially with Chinese. But the answer is likely to be incredibly fascinating. I'm well aware of the fact that there are many words that you never learn - which is why I'm glad to be able to use an alphabet too, lol. :-)

Thank you - I appreciate your comments, especially on my calligraphy. I don't have enough excuse to practice more and no time to concentrate on Mandarin. (Not to mention the fact that I can heavily concentrate on a language for about two weeks, then I'm done for awhile, lol. I prefer to learn about the languages more!)

Haha.. likewise... Believe it or not, I still need to constantly brush up my Chinese due to too much alphabets! haha

I've always been impressed by the handwriting of people from east Asia - whether from China, Japan, Korea or anywhere else. I guess that's one thing that Chinese is good for - demanding perfection in the strokes if anyone else needs to be able to read it! (Though I noticed a certain amount of stylization when I was refreshing my memory on how to write these characters.)

Demanding perfection in the stroke not just for easy reading, but also represent the beauty of the characters, the different font of the words (like English, Chinese characters have their own fonts as well). We were taught since small how to write the word according to sequences of strokes, everyone writes the same way.

I think this turned out quite nicely. Good work! Your ducks look much better than mine would. :)

Thank you! I nearly lost the ducks, actually. So happy to save them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97