Oh, fox!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Happy Father’s Day to all the Daddy’s out there! I’m ending the night on a high note and feeling great about what I’ve done with my day. I was successful in blowing @kommienezuspadt’s mind with his father’s day gift. Surprising him and getting him an awesome gift is no small feat. I’ve failed countless times so I’m soaking up this glorious achievement for as long as I can. I know I’ll be screwed once the birthdays roll around. 

His present was something Magic: The Gathering related, go figure! I was procrastinating and didn’t make it out to the game store until yesterday to purchase his gift. It turned out to be the biggest headache.😑 I forgot that it was a Saturday and there was some random event going on nearby, so traffic was high and parking was sparse. I missed an opportunity to nab a close parking spot and was forced to circle repeatedly around the block, internally screaming “Why didn’t you get that parking spot when you had the chance??!” Ever see a small person raging in a car? Totally me. 

Moving on....

So fast forward to the current day. I tried to think about cute ways to surprise my sweetheart but opted to bury myself in my sheets instead. I went the simple route which was to nonchalantly tell him to retrieve something from my trunk. We were in a rush to leave so he was absolutely clueless. Needless to say, I did a good job and I got a lot of love the whole car ride to @caffetto

We got right to work upon arrival and I went on to write about my fox tales contest break. Just to clarify, I’m not giving it up for good. I needed to put it on the back burner to make more room for my accessory designs. It’s become apparent that I need to spend my time carefully because I won’t get any better when I’m distracted. I get distracted and lost in thought easily, which leads to worrying unnecessarily.

While @kommienezuspadt, @tarotbyfergus and @treigh-c were swept away in an intense game of commander, I was left to brainstorm about patterns, designs, and small goals that I’d like to set. A few simple goals like: fishing out fabrics to up-cycle into accessories, searching for the missing parts of my sewing machine, and finally organizing my workspace. Small tasks that I’ve had to push back because of life in general. 

Somehow, I was able to remain productive on this hot/humid day. Usually I have meltdowns when it hits over 90°F but I stitched up some fox designs and got real lucky in the end. The bottom right fox is my favorite! I added brown eyes with a French knot and a simple black nose to finish it off. It looks so cute and was exactly what I had envisioned. Now, I have to figure out how I did it and see if I’m able to replicate it!


I have so many great ideas but I don’t want to reveal them just yet! Until I’m able to dig out my sewing machine, I’ll continue to stitch up simple animals so stay tuned! 

Thanks for stopping by!🦊

Sort:  

Sometimes not everything goes as one wants but so we know to prepare on a next occasion! Either way I see that sewing work has improved and you're advancing more and more which is great! I love what you're doing

Yes and I must continue to patiently plan! Thanks so much for the support @gvand!

It’s impressive that you can be so creative on many things. I hope you will remember how you did that lil cute fox :). I like the other ones as well though, so maybe you’ll unlock an even better version if you forget this one.

Thanks and I hope so I can unlock better versions! I did try to replicate that specific fox and each new one turned out slightly different. I actually prefer it that way.

These foxes are so cute! I wonder what other ideas are you hiding from us? :)

Stick around and you’ll see! 😄

I'm glad you were able to pull off the surprise, that is always fun when it works.

I think focusing on one thing is often a good decision. I know I took on the task of making over my own website months ago and have regretted it ever since, as it is hard to get to it when I am also daily doing art. But, I wanted to have control of it and make it how I wanted and now I've made it so it sits on my computer and no one can see it only the old placeholder site :/

I love your designs and I love using foxes in animals patterns. I'm excited to see what you make with these.

We’re both excellent and spoiling surprised🤣 so I’m glad it worked out!

Oh, no! Customizing your own website is sooo hard! I’ve never done it but those who have always look like they want to throw something across the room when they’re reminded of the work put into it. I hope you’re able to push through and get it looking pretty to display your art!

Thanks! I need to start sewing up garments so I can embroider these foxes! ^^

LoL nice job with the surprise, love it when a plan comes together XD Sorry about the parking dramas :S look at those adorable little fox heads, love the froof in the profile one!

goatsig

I know! Isn’t it cute!! I’d love to do a design of a little fluffy sheep! A goat would be cute too. Ooooo!!! I could try doing one of your goats!!

These little foxes are so adorable! I can't wait to see what other little critters you come up with.

Great job on the surprise! I know how you feel... it can be really tricky to come up with a good gift idea for my hubby, since often when he wants something, he just goes and gets it! I spent half of last week surfing the web, searching for gift ideas. (Father's Day this weekend, and his birthday this week too. Ugh.)

There’s so much that I want to try. Besides the fluffy and adorable four legged creatures, I’m also thinking about doing fish. How? I don’t know but I’ll figure it out!

Yes!!! He always gets what he wants immediately and it leaves me with nothing to gift him. I swear he will purposely leave me bread crumb ideas just because he knows I’m struggling. I have to start searching for birthday ideas soon too! I feel your struggle!!

Awww these are so cute, you definitely have a good skill there!

Thanks @vtravels! I’m glad you like them! Hopefully I can polish up my designs with more practice.

This is super amazing! I’ve been at it with my sewing machine more lately and Jason and I have started doing leatherwork together. I have my notebook with me and I need to write down my short and long term goals this evening.
Lots of love your way!

Cool!!! I’ve always wanted to try making things out of leather! That sounds so interesting! Thanks for all the love, I wish you success in achieving all your goals!

And I always wish you the same sweet girl! It’s alwsys fun and inspiring to see you pick up a new hobby and ace it!

Ohh I can't wait to see the finished piece! Also yours days seem fun and busy xD Mine are rather repetitive haha.
I'm very curious to see the fabric accessories ^^

Haha, I’m curious to see them as well! It’s great to have all these fun ideas but translating them into real life is a lot of work!
From the outside looking in my life also looks extremely repetitive. I think the only difference is that I’m not able to slow my brain down so it’s always a new day filled with new work. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87