The Mighty 'J' Man Happens to Be a Friend of Mine

in #art6 years ago

I'll have to be careful not to reveal his true identity here, but it's time for me to start bragging:

There are only a few superheroes that I know of signed up at Steemit, and their solitary, secretive lives often force them to stay quiet about their deeds, but one of the most valiant of them all is the fabulous Jed Man, and even though I don't think he likes for me to go on about it, the mighty J Man is a friend of mine.

IMG_2321.jpg

The Mighty J Man

I'm Friends With The Jed Man

That is correct, I know The Jed Man, we hang out all the time. Many times we have sat looking over his domain as he laughs about all of the super favors that he's done for the miscellaneous population scurrying below, and J Man is cool, he actually doesn't want recognition for his feats of goodness.

Did Somebody Say "Nice Post?"

I can't really say that JM fights spam, (I call him JM) it's more like he engages it-- it's not even a fight at all-- and when he's not testing out some spam-roasting gismo that he's invented, he simply talks to the spammers as if coaxing them off of a ledge, both disintegrating them and integrating them into the Jedian philosophies like an alchemist.

The Origami Car Incident

One thing JM doesn't talk about much is the Origami Car Incident. I think it brought out something in him that every superhero fears; that dark rage that blurs the line between doing what's right and doing what is just plain fun, and maybe he doesn't dare to stir that beast again.

It all started over a parking spot in an underground car park, and I still insist that Jed Man was in the right. The way it was told to me (and of course JM can correct me on the details, but this is the popular version of the incident that rumor has animated so colorfully) the Jed Man was driving a car for some reason, and decided to park the thing for some other reason. Usually very reasonable, Jed Man spied a spot and decided that it was his, while some other nearby driver thought the exact same thing about that exact parking spot, and that other driver pulled in first, fair and square.

I haven't mentioned Jed Man's superpowers, he doesn't like for me to give them away, which is totally understandable. If he had any enemies, they might be able to use that information against him, I get it. Now where was I?

That's it, the other driver gets the parking spot.

Jed Man watches as the other driver gets out of his car and walks away like he owns the place. Here's where the story varies, but it's said that the other driver felt a tap on his shoulder and there was Jed Man holding the guy's car, folded neatly into a swan. (Some say it was an elephant- whatever) So Jed Man says to the guy, "Pardon me, I believe this belongs to you?"

I Wish I Could Say More

Anyway, I'm just posting today to brag a little, and there's lots more to say about Jed Man and how we are friends here on Steemit, but he won't let me talk about any of it. He's probably going to disintegrate me for bringing up the incident above as it is, so I'm cutting this short here. Don't worry, we're close friends, he won't actually disintegrate me I don't think!


image above by me in colored pencils, 'Jed Man' 2018. That's all I can say about that, for more art, stories and variety, click below these birds:

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

I'm going out on a limb here and expose myself for the world to see. Yes, it is I, Jed Man!! I'm risking it all because this post is worth it goddamnit!

I have to say, Paulie B, this has got to be one of the best tribute posts I have received in my life!!! Bob knows I have received multitude of accolades and parades, but this stands as one of my favorites! My heart was filled with glee when I saw my beautiful place depicted so perfectly on page. I like the details on the beanie and my mole, and I like that you gave justice to my muscles. Nay, sir, I LOVE IT!!

Just because of that, I would excuse you for bringing up that incident-for-which-we-do-not-speak-about-and-if-we-ever-do-we-only-speak-about-it-in-hush-tones. Lower your guard, my friend. You shall not be disintegrated today, or any day, for that matter! Hooray for benevolence! Spammers beware, for you shall not only be coaxed from the ledge, but would also received a full scholarship in the Preparatory College of STEEM Ethics. Ridaposfers befo commentum

Words alone could not do justice to the gratitude I am feeling right now. This wonderful, wonderful tribute was a huge surprise and a great source of elation! I pray that this message has reached you in time, because as of writing, I am over the moon. Know that I shall cherish this forever, my friend!

Ohhh! I love super heroes .... but I love their alter egos more! Nice to know about you!

We've actually conversed in the comments before, but unfortunately, one of my other superpowers is that I easily become forgotten :/

I had not forgotten you! Your super hero status was unknown to me at the time, though. Making the connection now ... elevates my curiosity. Will be looking for clues to those secret super powers going forward!

Whew! Well that's a relief! :D I try to keep my other life separate after all, that's why my heroic deeds are obfuscated. Admittedly though, it's getting harder and harder to maintain this false identity I call 'Jed'. It's much easier being 'The Jed Man'!

Looks like a swan from this angle.

Never ever think that you're an ugly duckling you red swan you!

I think she was saying that she didn't know about your superhero alter ego ;)

Haha yeah.. my bad! It's such a relief my forgetableness isn't pervasive haha!

I am still laughing over the swan!!

Li's laughing about that part too haha!

This idea has been in my head for a few weeks, but when I found that image of you to work with, I knew it was going to be epic. Of course I had to draw the mole, even at risk of exposing your identity. And couldn't leave out the muscles-- it's a good thing I'm a confident heterosexual, else the paper would have likely been covered in drool before it was even shaded in. I seriously want one of those steemthrowers you are sporting there, or at least I want to make a batch of those STEEM hood ornaments/gun sights for our Lambos.

You mean my profile image ever since I started Steeming? Haha! Stay your libido, brother. I like you, but I don't like you like that. Put me in for those mounted steemthrowers though! My Lambo would feel naked without them.

Better still, my research team led me to this image:
Screen Shot 2018-02-08 at 2.39.36 AM.png

Aha! My birthday post pic haha! Way to mine that from the archives!

Well any person considered in high regard by @therealpaul has to be worth looking into.

U2 says it best:

I will follow

Awesome! Looking forward to future interactions!

Loading...

I haven't been posting often enough to attract my own legion of spam posters yet, but I did get one, and I already know what to do with them!

I don't believe in flagging them and their pitiful little self-votes; since my voting power can be used for giving, why would I rather use it for taking? So I have decided simply to engage them with words.

Well, one of them. The one guy. I've only had one so far. But I will continue! I'm going to make it a new tradition of mine!

That is, if I ever decide to write a post again.... :)

I don't get a lot of the spam, but sometimes I do flag, but solely in the spirit of giving. I send those rewards back into the pool so that more deserving posts can share that bit.

Sometimes I make posts about trying to decide to write a post-- fun writing exercise, you might try it! Then again, I tend to get a little absurd around here, so maybe not for everyone, the 'post about itself.' I'm due for one soon I feel.

Hahahaaaa, the car folded neatly into a swan!!! This is awesome, you did our super hero justice!

The other driver wanted to get mad, but the swan was just so nicely done. ;)

You got a 2.28% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jedau!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

hehe :) I think I need JED's super powers

I want to borrow that fancy steemthrower of his for a little while! If @jedau could delegate some super powers to us, he wouldn't have to stay so busy all the time.

uuuuuuum.... Nice post!

Hahaha

Very daring! We must presume that the J Man didn't see this taunt, or he'd be here flexing those muscles!

haha.

Well it is good to know that there is someone standing up for the unjust!

Wow..this is a excellent art photography..thank you friend

I appreciate it, thank you

Very interesting character you have potraied in your post, if he is your good friend here, I am very happy for you my friend. But I am not able to recognize the super hero you have mentioned above in steemit world. Who is that" j" man ?But I like his character and feel very happy that he is your good friend.Please have a look on my poem which I wrote yesterday. Have a great day friend.

The J man is a friend here who often writes about comics, so I portrayed him as a super hero here for fun. It's probably ok if I reveal that his name here is @jedau, but for the comedy above, I couldn't reveal his name, since the super hero often has a secret identity aside from their costumed super self, and I wanted to play like it was secret.

i am inspire about him from your post.
thank you for your post.

That's good! Maybe he will reveal himself here.

Very nice art @therealpaul.

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31