Paintings of Flowers Last Longer Than Real Flowers, But New York City Too Busy to Notice (Original Art)

in #art7 years ago

It was upon the sidewalks of New York City's Upper West Side that I devised my scheme, and it was on the sidewalks of the East Side along 5th Avenue where it played out in real life.

In my simple scheme, I would be the guy on the sidewalk who would sell you a printed copy of a painting of a photograph of a flower, based on the premise that my flowers would last longer than real flowers, and mine also cost less.

orchid1.jpg

Who Doesn't Love Orchids?

When I got to the city in 2005, was clear from the start that New York loves orchids. The live ones were sold in shops all over the West Side, and I'd noticed that the dry dead ones sat for months in their specialized pots upon front stoops and windowsills of the neighborhoods, or went straight into the massive recycling piles which were regurgitated from the brownstones onto the sidewalks every week in the city.

It appeared that few could keep these beautiful orchid plants alive, and I remembered sadly that I had also bought several live orchids over the years with the idea of bringing a little fung shui into my life; maybe I would decorate my coffee table with a nice live orchid and perhaps a smooth round stone, but the flowers would soon fade and drop onto the tabletop and into the ashtray (not sure how that ashtray became part of the display on that table) and I would eventually move the plant outside to die more naturally. No orchid of mine had ever survived, so I understood the difficulty of keeping an orchid alive.

My Fresh 'Prints Of Orchids' Scheme (POO?)


Here was my big idea: I had seen artists setting up their easels and card tables along 5th Avenue near the museums on the upper East Side of the city, and that row of museums was just a skip across Central Park for me.

My plan was to set up a card table of my own, but first, backing up a little, I would search for orchid photos on the internet, get out the watercolors and brushes so that I could begin to paint some flowers-- orchids-- and I would make prints of these paintings, and then set up my table on the sidewalk, where I would begin my scheme, and hopefully sell these prints of orchids to the people walking along 5th Avenue.

orchids4.jpg

orchid3.jpg

Ready to Sell Some Art

I'd found one of those red two-wheeled basket carts along my street one recycling day's eve-- these things were used everywhere in the city, and now I had one of my own to incorporate into my new enterprise. Onto the cart I bound my folding card table and a portfolio full of prints and originals, a few art supplies and a lunch, and across Central Park I rattled-- to the ritzy Upper East Side to compete with the florists and their live plants. A live orchid was at least $20, my prints would be only $5 each-- this was going to make waves in the fresh flower industry!

I set up my table and waited. What had I done? I felt like an animal in a zoo as the tourists poured from the museums to whisk past my display, refusing to glance at my 'street art', but looking at me like I was some sort of colorful barnacle clinging onto the sidewalk, a modified bum-- or as if I was mere spectacle; a curious part of the sightseeing tour, but surely not seriously expecting to sell art.

For a few months, every weekend on Saturday or Sunday I could be found there by the museums with my originals and prints on display, seriously expecting to sell art. I sold a few prints during that time, but I found that my prints of orchids were not my best sellers.

orchid2.jpg

City Life Means Disposable Orchids


,
In the City, many people would regularly buy nice electric floor fans in the Spring, then a few months later put them on the sidewalk for recycling in the Fall because there was no room for a fan in their tiny apartments. New York City just eats things, but most of those things end up on the sidewalk, and the orchids are no exception. Too cold for a fan? Throw that fan away. Plant dying? Don't water it, just buy a new one.

I didn't put any florist shops out of business that summer with my perpetually blooming orchids, and I wasn't visited by the floral mafia telling me to stop trying to sell my POO on the sidewalk. Looking back though, it would have made a better story if such thugs had dropped by my little table, with their witty floral quips and colorful threats. Instead, it was nice to just sit on a Saturday morning watching the world walk past my little table.

During my months on 5th Ave, I settled into a regular spot, right next to a guy who sold a lot of little kitchen-sized paintings of coffee cups in various colors. It was always pleasant sitting in the shade for a few hours on the weekend-- good memories from my time living in Manhattan.

The painting below was done from my spot on 5th Avenue-- watercolor on a canvas panel:

5thAve.jpg

thanks for reading, I hope that you enjoyed my watercolors and the story behind them.



@therealpaul

Sort:  

They are really very beautiful paintings and they will never die.

I've never seen the beauty in having paintings of orchids beyond appreciating the technique itself. Of course painting them should be another whole deal. That 5th avenue approach is quite telling of what happens to things out of place in a city.

The city had me trying to think of ways to monetize my art, but it really is the act of painting that is the valuable part of such art usually.

Caricatures of the flower handlers might have sold better. People like funny stuff on the street.

Now I think those caricatures would have been good here on this post-- if only they had really showed up!

You're too good for the city, brother. Ever since planned obsolescence was enacted, a mentality of wastefulness just swept through the whole world. Gone are the days of permanence, as if we ever experienced it. Everyone's always looking to ditch the old for the new.

We're a society that has plenty, but is programmed to always want more. It's manufacturing, insisting on growth, and needing a consumer base that thinks it needs stuff. People can be taught to buy things based only on an illusion of status.

Is it why we yearned to grow past our subterranean roots? Perhaps this mentality is what caused our ancestors to go above ground in the first place. It seems like I'm poking fun of the hollow Earth, but I'm being very serious right now. The epiphany just struck me now. This need to get more and more might've caused our ancestors to seek more above ground. After generations of staying on the surface, the path back might've closed and our younger ancestors have forgotten that there was a life before the surface.

When I saw "subterranean roots" I had to invert my mind to see it, and maybe that's one reason why it's hard to imagine a hollow Earth-- it takes some mental gymnastics plus an ability to ignore all of the previous versions of reality.
The consumer economy is something that allegedly appeared in the 20th century with people like Edward Bernays using marketing to play upon the herd's emotions, compelling the masses to buy things that they don't need. Since industry always tries to expand, the consumers had to be tricked into wanting a 'new' one, whatever it was. I got the impression that without that constant stimulus, we humans might actually realize that we have everything we need already, and we might even have time to dream and invent a useful world.
Here, you offer the idea that maybe that insatiable appetite that modern consumers have is more like human nature-- suggesting that it is in our genetics to seek more and more all the time. It would offer a more organic explanation of why (if we originated from inside the planet!) we would have ventured to the surface. I was always imagining that we either got kicked out, or we were designed to mine the surface long ago, and were then abandoned out here.
The only reason I entertain such speculative notions as a hollow Earth is that the official version of how we got here is so full of holes, I have no choice but to imagine alternatives. Do I really believe that the Earth is hollow? I do not believe anything, so I am free to journey into these radical versions of life.
Thanks for adding to this, I wasn't really planning to talk about it anymore after the post I made about it was so universally ignored! ;)

Those are some fine orchids, nothing disposable about them! I imagine it would be a cool experience to live in Manhattan for a time- though I could never do the city thing for long. It's always fun to visit though!

Yeah I was ill-prepared to live in the city for a year-- I would go back, maybe three to five days at a time, but not another whole year!

I had to take a break from steemit yesterday, the ddos attacks were making using it frustrating.
It appears to be in working order today. Well, steemit has just become important enough to launch attacks at, that's the way I choose to look at it :)

Yeah I couldn't get much done, the page was gone a lot, and when it did open it was hard to upvote. I didn't even know it was an attack until now, I just knew it was the first time I'd had troubles like that. Oh today I saw a post you made about the puppet show, I had completely missed it, it was 4 days old already! So I guess I've taken a break or two also. I love those costumes with the big face masks.

Ah, the Bread and Puppet Theater. Hopefully the next time we visit Vermont we'll head to their base of operation. We went once before, and there is a barn full of paper mache masks like those. Some of them are so big I don't know how a person could hold their head up! They are a strange lot, but fascinating. I think it's a kind of commune.

Also, I've talked about us coming to visit you, and we are, but hopefully one day you'll get a chance to visit us too. I would love to host you and be your tour guide. We could burn one on top of the stone cat ;)

There has to be another way for artists to 'make a living' but maybe we have to have these experiences to keep seeking that other way.

Like you I made photographic prints of my paintings when I was painting on silk, back in the early 2000's. Sold a few but mainly enjoyed the comraderie of being with other artists and craftspeople at all the art fairs and markets. 🦋

Those were enjoyable times sitting on the sidewalk those weekends. I'd like to see some of the silk paintings if you have any of them posted here.

Your paintings definitely aren't poo, but I sat here giggling for a few minutes over the acronym and how it fit your experience. I would have bought a print. I really like the one with the purplish background and $5.00 is a steal.

I was having fun with the idea of something that every artist must go through; periods where they think their own work is poo, and I'm sure I thought it more than once as the people walked past. Some of these paintings just need a little creative cropping to make them better I think. There were others that didn't make the post, these were my favorites of the bunch.

Wow great job friend, you are a multitenented personality you are a singer, a great writer, painter how friend all these qualities in one man. Thanks, proud to be your friend. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experience with the newyork city, or manhottn. Thanks, wish you a very beautiful time my dear friend.

Maybe I have talents, but how I do it is this: I refused to grow up, and I kept my imagination. I never stopped imagining, and I think that anyone can do it. Have a nice evening!

Quite the big-city adventure. And a bit frustrating, I would imagine. I'm glad the floral thugs didn't come flip your folding table. Think you should write a short story based on this whole premise, it would be enjoyable with your wit and story-telling abilities. Sort of a tulip-industry/art gallery roll-de-bangue of NYC, complete with flower painting counter fitters in dank basements, and bad guys chasing them all about the narrow alleyways of the big city. Ok, maybe not.
I spent 5 weeks in the city on a bug quest years ago, it is definitely an interesting, hopping place. But I think we both are ensconced where we are supposed to be these days. The slower paced life. Have a most wonderful, somewhat quiet day.

I'm tempted to rewrite the story, someone else suggested that I should have drawn caricatures of the flower mobsters instead of painting flowers-- it's true! If there's no such thing as a floral mafia, then there will be after I invent them.

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond. To be Resteemed to 4k+ followers and upvoted heavier send 0.25SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94