New Photos of Dream Helicopters: Some Close-up Shots

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Let's take a closer look at these flying things.

IMG_2363.jpg

Roller Copters, painted in 2004

It's been tricky getting a photo of this painting in it's frame, but here I am trying again.

The glass was reflecting everything, so I took the painting off of the wall to get some better light.

IMG_2362.jpg

Roller-inspired art in a classic 'Roller Wilson' frame

The painting is based on a dream; in the dream, my friend the famous artist Roller Wilson had an office in New York City, and in the dream I went to visit him there.

On the front glass of his offices were stencils of helicopters and odd geometric flying things, and when I woke up those helicopters were all that I remembered.

IMG_2361.jpg

October 2004 is the date on the painting, I had been living in NYC for about a month.

IMG_2358.jpg

IMG_2357.jpg

If you like the artwork, be sure to let me know in the comments, and of course upvote as hard as you can.


artwork above is mine from 2004, 'Roller Copters', watercolor and ink. For more artwork, stories and variety, click carefully below this power line, trying not to scare the birds:

IMG_2143.jpg

click @therealpaul for more

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing :)
There was something eerily familiar about your 2nd last pic, and then it struck me.
It's the bottom section of the Qabalah. Where Malkouth joins with Hod, Yesod and Netzach :)
Association to the helicopter is strange though, but then its imagery would invoke different thoughts in different people.
Peace.

Oh I see that! There's a book on a shelf behind me now called 'The Mystical Qabalah', and the cover has an illustration of what you're talking about. I've painted the bottom of the Tree of Life then, flying with helicopters. Back when I painted this, I'd scarcely even heard of the Tree of Life, and I still haven't studied the Qabalah much.

I like the artwork, that is why I am letting you know in this comment. I upvoted as hard as I can, but I feel it only made a dent.

Haha! Seriously though, I like the composition and the colors. That background contrast is gorgeous! I feel like even without the helicopters and geometric figures, it could stand on its own. Wonderful work, brother!

It was a serious dent, and was felt, thank you!

This painting was mostly walls, and I found myself detailing them quite a bit, but I really just wanted to draw helicopters, not paint walls-- but I do like the way they turned out.

Wow very interesting, the paintings are so real as helicopter. You have mentioned that all are based on dream, your friend is out of description telanted. Thanks for sharing such an interesting topic. Wish you a very beautiful time ahead my friend.

I learned a lot about painting from Roller Wilson, and I think you are right, he is beyond description. His painting he calls his 'monkey business'. Thanks for looking at my art, I'm glad you like my helicopters. Have a great day!

good job..you have drawn them nicely :)

Thank you, I definitely had fun drawing helicopters!

wonderful drawings!!!!!!!!!
-cheers-

Thank you! I'm glad you came by, as always -cheers!

Great picture and painting, so unic guys.

I appreciate it!

Yes, I hope there will be more of such art.

of course i love it , im in love with the details , in love with everything have a deep meaning this is a great and wonderful painting. Congrats your friend, no word can describe how magical and beautiful this painting.

I felt the same way I think-- I wasn't sure what to write about it. Thanks for looking!

Really Cool art!

Thank you for looking.

I really like the tones and the subject but also the frame you chose!
Upvoted hard (for my possibility!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87