Portrait of Mandi - Digital Pastel and Chalk Painting

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Portrait of Mandi


I wanted to try doing a digital portrait painting.

I used an old photo I had taken of Mandi See as a reference.

The Inspiration For This

Not much to say here. I just wanted to try to make a portrait. The original source photo has quite dark shadows and warm tones.

I'm not sure if I like this portrait or not. I think getting tones right whilst also preserving the colours was tough and so the painting looks a lot more "alien" than the original photo.

I was scared of posting it at first because I think the tones are not quite right - the highlights are perhaps too extreme and the colours for the shadows almost look bruised.

I will need to practice a lot more to get this right, I think the pastels in Corel Painter look great but they don't always respond the same way as real pastels - but that might be because I used to use oil pastels which have a different feel (I still need to see all the new simulated brushes they have available).

I hope you like it. Also (as I usually say) feel free to use it in your own posts if you can find a use for it.


How It Was Created


It was created on Corel Painter 18 on my Mac using a Wacom Tablet.

Corel Painter is probably the most powerful painting software currently available and simulates different painting media more effectively and realistically than anything else I have come across.

For this piece I used a combination of chalks, pastels and pencil brushes.




Steemithelp.net

Are you new to Steemit and Looking for Answers?

Please visit:

Steemithelp.net

A collection of guides and tutorials that cover the basics of Steem and Steemit.


Follow me Steemit & Twitter.

All uncredited images are taken from my personal Thinkstock Photography account. More information can be provided on request.


Sort:  

Looks nice! You really know how to use that Wacom tablet! I really love the grainy effect you've putted over it

Thanks. The grain comes from using the brushes in Corel Painter.

Ah nice. I researched the software a bit and looks pretty solid. A Wacom tablet is on my wishlist at the moment so these kinds of software are always nice to have. Currently I'm designing in the Adobe Suit and Sketch. But didn't have something like this yet. Thanks for the tip ;)

No problem. Definitely look into it - you can sometimes even pick them up dirt cheap second hand as some people tend to upgrade them quite often - the pen technology itself is pretty consistent and doesn't really change.

Great art!

Beautiful moody portrait

Thank you:)

This is a very beautiful Portrait @thecryptofiend
Upvoted!

Thank you that is very kind.

no it doesn't look like an alien
it looks fine!

You're welcome

This time is different. I like it, actually I really like it :)
Good inspiration!

Thank you. I'm not sure if I like it this time though:)

You're very talented!

Thank you for your kindness:)

Nice portrait

oh wow such details ,the finest one till now great !!

You should not have doubted it. The picture is delicious. Thank you for your work on community development.

I think it is quite an impressive design for something you did on your free time. Good job. =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88