Vector Drawing With Inkscape

in #art6 years ago
The other day I did a little sketch for the Doodle Doodledayeo challenge. I mentioned that I was going to try and turn the sketch into a vector and that's exactly what I did.

I did this using Inkscape instead of Illustrator. I'm still trying to learn how to use Inkscape, Gimp, and Krita a little better so I can stop paying for things like Illustrator and Photoshop to draw on the computer. It took me a few evenings of teaching myself how to do some of the techniques I wanted to do, though. I got it all figured out, it's just a little different than Illustrator.

Illustrator has some nice features to it, but it's not worth the price tag when there is this great, free, open source alternative available for everyone to use.

So, if you ever find yourself in need of Super Steemian fighting a giant squid for upvotes, feel free to use this one.

insta.gif

squid ink.png

squid base.png

squid chest3.png

squid steem5.png

squid shading7.png

squid texture8.png

squid fish11.png

Sort:  

That's a really fun doodle. I agree, the new pricing model for the Adobe products turns out to be outrageously expensive in the long run. Finding alternatives is a very good strategy.

Great to see some of the phases as you drew this one. I have got as far lately as installing Procreat for my ipad. Krita is not available yet for ipad.

I'll have to try that out when we come down next week. I've been thinking about getting something I can sit in the couch and draw with. Maybe an iPad is the answer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28