My ArtVenture: Mixed medium painting :"Date on a pier"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,

First of all I would like to share how we spend the weekend, except, of course, having a nice walk and also cooking we were working on our New project @art-venture you are welcome to visit that site and see all information there.

As I mentioned on weekend I bought more of acrylic paper and this time wanted to do more a less a nice painting of sunset and water, but of course it would be too boring so I decided to placed a figure of young woman who is on a pier and have set up a date with someone who just arrived so you can see the wheel of bicycle.

Or may be there is another scenario and this young woman just arrived with her bicycle at a pier to enjoy evening sun and fresh air before going to bed. Either way, I thought to do evening sky more in yellow tone and just very vaguely have done other side of coast with a bit of trees and bushes, actually I really like how they turned out. My hubby said that it looks more like in South East Asia like Palms and because it seems to be hot as my girl is bar feet then it could be there, as in Scotland bar feet would be freezing :)

Never mind, I can’t answer your question but I just want you to enjoy the painting.



Mixed medium painting :"Date on a pier" by @Stef1

wrxxizbelc.jpg


My step-by-step process and materials:

First is sketch, I started from feet up because wanted to make sure that the figure not too big. But as it sometimes happens, the head was too big so I had to draw it again smaller. No trouble if it is visible just now because it is pastel and once covered with acrylic pains you will not see it :

r5wgaovhno.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

So you see here are my Primary colors:

-Cadmium Yellow,
-Cadnmium Red
-Cyan Blue
-Raw Umber
-Titanium White

  • and of course a flat brush that will help you not to concentrate on details, please just cover your painting with color do not pay attention to the lines, if they are straight or curved, right or wrong we will correct everything once we rid of WHITE CANVAS because it is your enemy it is distracting you during painting and not the colors :)

6wl58716v6.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

You can start wherever you like I started with the girl, because I want to see a main figure first, you see that everything is relatively dark but some highlights do not make them too light you will have time later.

You can just jump from one area to other, I went directly to sky and started to pain clouds, which are absolutely different colors in the evening, you will not make a mistake, mix up everything but only spare the area where you want to make it lighter...

3k0on8rz9l.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

So we have created some bushes in background everything looks already very nice and almost finished. Now I wanted to do the pier.

0x0bykjh9o.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

Now water surface, you probably noticed that beautiful violet color, you can create it from mixing red and blue and add a bit of white :)

i7upvs09ui.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

At this stage I was thinking to try to experiment that I usually like to do, I took my soft pastels and used lemon yellow to lighten up the sky :)

b57zxyx0nl.jpg ![vb18n00ww2.jpg]

jsli7g4632.png

I also decided to pale a bit the water because hte sky is light and water dark so I used the same pastels for water surface:

bk10h26hjt.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

Now back to acrylic paints, as I wanted more intense colors now:

mpdrxv7wv4.jpg

jsli7g4632.png

And here it is my final stage with my tools, my signature and date is 03.09.18

Mixed medium: Acrylic paints and Soft Pastel painting :"Date on a pier" by @Stef1

Acrylic textured paper 30.5x40.5 cm, paper weight 260 gsm, acrylic colors, palette knives, flat and round brushes, soft pastel sticks and pencils

jsli7g4632.png



Test-1ab.jpg

DSC01062.jpg



hf9bijdca2.png



I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

lovely work of art :)
I hope she didn't get stood up
barefooted would indeed be toooo brrrrrrr...

What a beautiful work, @stef1! Very good!

Thank you for your words and it s nice to know that the time and effords areappreciated and at the end I really enjoyed myself :)

You're welcome. Keep up with the great work!

You have a special talent for choosing the colors I love so much :) Wonderful painting again, what can I say? Absolutely wonderful!

Thank you @erikah, it is sometimes difficult to choose right colors but really working only with primaries makes it easier. Also what I like in acrylic paints once the color choice was wrong you have to let it dry which is really matter of minutes and paint on the top of it. I am very pleased with your compliments, thank you for seeing my work :)

I bet choosing the right color is not easy. I find drawing only with graphite is more easier and convenient fro me, although love colors. I guess after some time you get used to choosing colors and gets easier :)
Anyway, keep up the good work! I'm always happy to see a new artwork from you :)

Очень красиво!!!

Спасибо за просмотр Алекс, очень рада что вам понравилась :)

A young woman who enjoys the view is amazing😊

Thank you @anitacarolina for visiting and of course really appreciate your words :)

You're welcome @stef1 😄


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for visiting my painting @C-squared for viewing my work and I am really grateful for supporting the traditional artists :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you for your support @artzone :)

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

You can start whereever you like I started with the girl, because I want to see s main figure first, you see that everything is relatively dark but some highlights do not make them too light you will have time later.
It should be wherever instead of whereever.

We can put pastel colors on acrylic paint! I did not know. The movement of the water surface is expressed very well by pastel. Beautiful picture!

Yes you can do it, I just tried some time ago, because wanted more smooth color and it worked very well, since then I just mixed them when I am not satisfied with result of acrylic colors. I find pastel on top of acrylic good for wide area such as sky or water. Thank you for your nice words :)

Very good painting.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72