Implosion Pendants and How Glass Color is Made

in #art7 years ago

This is probably the best pendant I've ever made. At least, it is the most technically correct and the colors came out exactly as I hoped they would. This is one of the many interesting characteristics of glass, when you use a color of glass it can be very difficult to predict how it will come out when it cools.

Glass gets its color from the different metals it it created with. Blue glass is made with silver and pink glass is made with gold. The use of these metals in colored glass can make them particularly expensive. When these colors are heated, as in the process of making these pendents, the flame (a mixture of oxygen and propane) causes the metals in the glass to oxidize and reduce depending on the mixture of propane and oxygen.

It can take years to master color application in glass and those knowledgeable in the process can actually create their own colors by making up formulas with metals.

IMG_2667.jpg

The pink dots in the background of this piece come from a pink glass rod made with gold in its formula. The yellow, green, and blue swirls in the foreground come a color called Silver Strike. The silver is most noticeable on tips of the swirls where blue can be seen.

IMG_2668.jpg

When using Silver Strike I particularly like using black opaque glass as the background. This ensures a lovely contrast with the complex colors of Silver Strike.

Thank you for reading!

Please up vote and follow if you enjoyed this post!

If you like my work, some of my pendants are for sale on Etsy for purchase: https://www.etsy.com/shop/SteveChadwickGlass?ref=profile_shopicon

Sort:  

That is beautiful - kind of sea anemone-like. I hope you do figure out how to get some time in a studio soon, I would absolutely love to see some process pics along with a finished product some day. Cheers - Carl

Thank you! I'll definitely try to get into a studio in the next few weeks, Steemit has been great motivation to get back into lampworking. I really appreciate your interest Carl!

Hey, check out my new post, I got some process pictures up!

Thanks!

That is really pretty. I want one like that!

Thank you! Unfortunately, I haven't had access to a studio in a little while but I hope to get some time in one soon. I can let you know when I've made more like these!

They are really nice. That 4wm8nds me that I wanted to go to tge glass shop to see if any fit my deadlocks:) you def do good work.

That's so gorgeous! I love your work on etsy too!

Thanks so much!

Congratulations @spc! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29