"Before and After" Converting My Sketchbook Drawings to Digital Illustrations

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I have been drawing for years and recently switched over to the world of digital illustration this past fall.

Although many of my favorite pieces since my switch have been created solely on digital, drawn in a combination of Adobe Photoshop and Adobe Illustrator, I also really enjoy converting my pen and pencil drawings from my sketchbook into digital pieces.

This mixed media approach to drawing allows for the comfort of traditional style drawing to be accentuated with the vivid color palettes and textured brushes that are why I have fallen inlove with digital illustration.

Below are some examples of my pieces that have resulted from this process, a "before and after" if you will.

I just thought I'd post this because it's fun to see the before and after, and also in case anyone was interested in using digital art in a mixed media format or other ways to combine traditional drawing and digital.

I often stream the entire process or most of it on twitch.
Finished versions of my art are posted on my website www.bittyvicious.com.

Thanks for checking it out and if you have any questions about the process or ideas for better ways I could do this feel free to share them!

All of the following images are owned by me and are my original art.

original sketch for my piece "Cherry Pie":


cherry pie original.jpg image owned by the author

"Cherry Pie" finished piece:

cherry pie smaller.png
available for viewing on my website here

original sketch for my textile design "Do Whatever You Want":


be a slut original.jpg
image owned by the author

textile prints made from "Do Whatever You Want" sketch:


be a slut do whatever final.png


available for viewing on my website here

original sketch for "Grab My Arm?":


16833704_10210474990363890_1712652259_o.jpg
image owned by the author

"Grab My Arm?" finished piece:


grabmyarm_flatnd_pink_smaller.png
available for viewing on my website here

Sort:  

Really cool stuff... Do your digital images come from scans of your hand drawings? What software do you edit with at that point?

I scan my hand drawings in as 300dpi PDFs, convert them to PNG or JPEG files, and use a combination of Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop with a Wacom Intuos Pen & Touch drawing tablet to edit them from there.

They're awesome... I'm gonna try to use some Adobe Illustrator while I'm still in school and have access to it... I need to dig up some old notes from when I was really into doodling lol. Thanks for cluing me in.


Hi @sowingseason, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29