Selling my Digital Art at MakersPlace

in #art5 years ago

Dear friends,

I recently was invited to join MakersPlace, another cool platform for showcasing and trading digital art.

MakersPlace is a platform that empowers digital creators (artists, designers, writers and more) to create and sell their unique digital creations with the help of blockchain technology.

Source


Bildschirmfoto 2018-12-07 um 20.45.17.png

MakersPlace is owned and operated by Onchain Labs Inc., a company based in San Francisco, California. Their team consists of "veteran technologists and creators with decades of experience building consumer products".

Like most of similar platforms, MakersPlace makes use of Ethereum smart contracts to handle the tokenization and trading of the artworks. But in contrary to other platforms, they pay the necessary gas fees and customers can even buy digital artworks using their credit cards.

The website is currently "invite only", but there are already several well known artists from Steemit around. For example, Reinhard Schmid, Twirble, Haedre, Art with Flo and Sander Jansen Art.

My MakersPlace Store

At first I was a bit unsure, which kind of artworks I should submit to my MakersPlace store, because I didn't wanted to put up the same stuff up there like on SuperRare or KnownOrigin. While I basically decided to put my monochrome grid- and lineart on KnownOrigin, I went for the more colourful and glitchy stuff on SuperRare.

When I looked around at the other artist's works, I noticed that there are a lot of digital drawings and paintings as well as graphics design works on the platform. So I decided to start with one of my earlier digital works called "Tune in, Turn around, Drop out!", a digitally revised edition of an analog sketch, that turned out quite psychedelic, because it works either way around.


Bildschirmfoto 2018-12-07 um 20.48.07.png

It's an edition of 5 and you can get one for 0.5 Eth (or the equivalent in fiat). You can read more about the making-of in my former Steemit post. In case, you're still wondering, why you should actually pay for an artwork, than can easily copied from the net, here is the explanation from the MakersPlace site:

Upon purchase, you'll be given the right to use, distribute and display the creation for non-commercial purposes only. Since you own this unique creation, you can also re-sell the creation on a secondary market or even directly on MakersPlace.

Source

And here is a short video explaining the whole thing:

More Art

The second piece, I've put up on MakersPlace is a more edgy and contemporary piece, it's called "Plasic Queen".


Bildschirmfoto 2018-12-07 um 21.04.12.png

It is based on a video-still of a performance, I recorded in the late 80s, called 'Plastic World', which has been one of my long lasting sources of inspiration and already went through countless transformations. Here is the work in higher resolution:


plastic_queen.jpg

Visit my MakersPlace Store

Overall this marketplace for digital art looks very promising and I had a smooth experience putting up my works (and buying a work from @reinhard-schmid). I only once mixed up the public link to one of my artworks with the one from my internal shop page, but after Daniel Chu (Co-founder and CEO of MakersPlace) personally notified me of my mistake, I'm pretty sure, that won't happen again ;-)

So please take a look at my MakersPlace store here and don't forget to bookmark and check out the other amazing artists at the platform!

Thanks for your consideration!

@shortcut


sigil.jpg
follow_shortcut.gif

Sort:  

Super! Freut mich sehr, Deine Kunst jetzt auch auf MakersPlace zu sehen!
Das video kannte ich noch gar nicht.. ist aber eine gute Erklärung des Systems.

Darf ich fragen, wie man als Künstler bei KnownOrigin gelistet werden kann?

Danke für das herzliche Willkommen! Das Video habe ich auf der Webseite gefunden und fand es ganz gut!
Bezüglich KnownOrigin, die haben leider gerade eine Art Aufnahmestop, aber wenn du auch auf Telegram unterwegs bist, würde ich einfach mal in deren öffentlichen Telegram-Gruppe nett nachfragen. Ich kann mir gut vorstellen, dass man für dich eine Ausnahme macht. Viel Glück!

Danke für den Tip mit Telegram. Ich werd mir das jetzt erst mal anschauen und mich vielleicht doch lieber auf die Plattformen beschränken wo ich schon präsent bin. SuperRare hat mich akzeptiert und ich hab meinen ersten SmackMan schon hochgeladen! :-)

Sehr cool! Hab’s vorhin schon entdeckt und freue mich riesig, deinen SmackMan auf SuperRare zu sehen 😎! Wünsche dir ganz viel Erfolg und das mit Knownorigin läuft ja auch nicht weg ;-)

I am on there as well. I am meant to be putting up some new things today and getting a post done about it (that'll have to happen tomorrow)

I really think this is going to be part of the future for we artists.

I agree, that this feels like the future of art-markets. Excited to see so many Steemian artists joining recently. Looking forward to your additions and wishing you huge success!

Yay! So glad you joined !! I saw you post about it on Twitter the other day. I have not been on Steemit much lately but had to resteem

Thank you, much appreciated! I still have to find my audience/collectors at makersplace, but I like the platform nevertheless ;-)

Interessante Seite....Welche Programm benutz du eigentlich für deine Bilder?

Danke! Ich benutze verschiedene Programme wie zB. Processing, Glitché, Fotor, aber auch Photoshop. Meistens sind die Bilder mit mehreren dieser Programme bearbeitet, bis ich irgendwann zufrieden bin ;-)

Your art is very different and unique there love it :)

Thank you 🙏!

Wow! This is great news. I'd really love to join this platform @shortcut. I have some digital art like the one in my new post to put up and I will make more.

Great! The platform is currently invite only for artists, but I know, that you can get more infos about the process by writing an email to their support (you can find the address at their website under the 'help' section). Good luck!

Hello @shortcut, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

This post is supported by $0.03 @tipU upvote funded by @share2steem :)
@tipU voting service guide | For investors.


@shortcut, sorry to see you have less Steem Power.
Your level lowered and you are now a Minnow!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Hi @shortcut!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.537 which ranks you at #552 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 215 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84