Sketch it Out, Colour it in - Speed Painting in Less Than a Minute!!!

in #art7 years ago

I love painting landscapes, especially painting the mountains of New Zealand. I'm always striving to create epic paintings and one way you can do this is by doing pencil sketches and a small painting first like the one in the speeded up video below.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="

" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

When I'm painting a large landscape I like to know the road ahead. I first spend time designing a composition in my sketch book and then painting a small picture or colour study. 

Small paintings are great, they are not only fun to paint but you can iron out problems that may occur prior to painting a large art work. This often saves a lot of time in the long run.

Small paintings are more affordable, so they are often easy to sell.

This is the finished painting as shown in the time lapse video. I will now use this painting to refer to when I paint a big canvas painting of this scene. I am hoping to start the final painting in the next week so I'll post it to Steemit soon.

If you like my Steemit posts and my paintings, check out my website: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

My...my, @samuel-earp-art you are very talented. Wonderful post of your process painting your large canvas paintings. I especially enjoyed your video. Well done and helpful for interested artists who can learn from how you paint.
Steem is beautiful and creative steemers like you make it that way. I am following and upvoting your post and hope you keep steeming on.
171.gif

Thank you @steemisbeautiful for your nice comment. Steemit is a great website, I've only been on it for a week and I'm loving it. I want to help other artists with their painting in the same way people have helped me with my own art journey.

I'll be posting more on this painting in the next few weeks. I'll be starting the final canvas painting of this scene in the next few days and I'll write a full painting demo when it's complete :)

very beautiful painting. Great artistic process.

I love your style, it is crisp and defined yet expressive and free, a tough balance to reach!

Thanks @edouard I love traditional realism landscape painting so I'm striving to create paintings that are vibrant but also look natural :)

Love paintings kf nature and wilderness

Thanks @jmgobblengrunt I hope to post more paintings soon :)

You initially made it seem like you did that beautiful work in 1-min real time! Great video, thanks for sharing your talent~ Followed for more future goodstuff.

Thank @hansikhouse actually it took me about a week just to paint that little painting. Lately I've been filming all my paintings as hopefully in the long term I'll make some instructional videos for other artists who want to paint landscapes...but they also make great time lapse videos :)

Very cool art...I like ti :)

awesome, Thanks for sharing!

Fantastic I love the music too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65628.71
ETH 2669.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86