Plein Air Painting - Opua, New Zealand

in #art5 years ago

6cd10b1c-f332-4fd7-a378-84734858a0a6.jpeg

3f6bc4cd-560a-421a-8ab9-f1d931da1a0b.jpeg


I’ve been visiting the Bay of Islands in Northland, New Zealand. I found this beautiful view in a little village called Opua, down the road from where I was staying. I set up my easel at the side of the road and painted the view outdoors ‘en plein air’ in oils.

I love the native New Zealand trees up here, many of the forests contain beautiful native trees including totara, rimu, tanekaha, kauri, kanuka and many more. The greens from these trees are different to any other trees I have seen and they are a joy to paint.

Painting outdoors is known as painting en plein air, a French term for painting outdoors.

Opua, New Zealand, 10” x 12” (approx), oil on canvas, painted outdoors en plein air.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87