How to Paint a COASTAL SCENE

in #art4 years ago

In this video I show you how to paint a coastal scene inspired by the Central Coast located in New South Wales, Australia. This painting features a summer evening with turquoise breaking waves on the beach and the headland of Norah Head in the background. Norah Head is well known for the lighthouse that sites at the end of the cliff.

In the video I will explain the following:

  1. Composition
  2. Colours and brushes
  3. Blocking in the painting
  4. Adding detail
  5. Adding final details

The location for this painting is Soldiers Beach with the headland of Norah Head that features the Norah Head lighthouse. This is one of my favourite beaches in the world, I love the unique colours of the cliffs and foliage and the turquoise bottle green of the sea.

Here is the finished painting featured in this video, I painted this art work in oils on a 16" x 20" canvas.

Check out the written notes that accompany this video. Please feel free to use the reference photos if you would like to have a go at painting this.

If you would like to see more of my art work check out my website.

Check out my painting tutorial videos by following me on YouTube and LBRY

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87