Fresh off the Easel - My Latest Seascape Painting - Wild Atlantic Ocean

in #art6 years ago

Hello Steemers

I'm excited to show you my latest seascape painting which I have been working on for the last couple of weeks. 

This painting is inspired by the wild Atlantic Ocean off the coast of Guernsey, I love the beauty of the colours in the waves and the drama of the heavy swells, breaking waves and jagged rocks.

I painted this art work using oil paints.

'Wild Atlantic Ocean', 30cm x 40cm, oil on canvas.

PAINTING VIDEO AND WRITTEN TUTORIAL COMING SOON....

I have been filming the painting process of this seascape which I will be uploading to my YouTube and DTube channel soon. 

I will also post a written painting tutorial to Steemit as well.

SOME OF MY PAINTING PROCESS PHOTOS - PAINTING TUTORIAL PREVIEW

Here are few of the painting process photos and this is to give you an idea of what I'll be covering in the upcoming painting video I'm making and the painting tutorial.

I start my blank canvas with a layer of burnt sienna, the warms up the painting as is especially good for seascape paintings, it really adds a great dimension to your art work.

I roughly sketch out the scene with titanium white mixed with quinacridone magenta and liquin original.

I always start by painting the sky, the element that is furthest away in the painting. I keep the sky tonally lighter than the rest of the painting to make it recede. 

Next I focus on the breaking wave. I'm not concerned with detail at this stage of the painting, I keep my brush work loose and gestural.

This is when the blocking in stage was completed, I have the overall colour and tone of the painting established and a base to work from where I can build up the detail of the painting. I let the painting dry at this stage then begin working on it again.

I spent many sessions building up the detail of my painting and making sure the tonality and colour saturation of the overall painting coordinated.

I created the illusion of rough swells and white water as well as wet rocks.

Whenever I creating a painting whether it's a seascape or a landscape I always saved my lightest tones until the end of the painting which makes the painting come alive.

This is the final painting, stay tuned for the video and painting tutorial...

PAINTING FOR SALE - BITCOIN ACCEPTED HERE :)

This painting is for sale for $800 USD, I will also gladly accept Bitcoin as payment. Please email me if you are interested in this art work or leave a comment below. 

Email: [email protected]

SUBSCRIBE AND RECEIVE A FREE DIGITAL PRINT DOWNLOAD

Subscribe to my mailing list for news, new paintings and art tips and receive a FREE digital art print download of one of my seascape paintings suitable for printing an image of any size: 

https://www.samuelearp.com/subscribe/

I hope you enjoyed this blog post, check out my website for more of my art: samuelearp.com

Sort:  

What a great nature art work, I pray I could be this good, and am sure I will surely get there.

I love how the water almost looks transperant..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85