Blinded by...steem?

in #art7 years ago

Quartz is not happy with Ruby

Ruby gasped as Quartz suddenly grabbed her by the neck and threw her onto the top of the crate like she weighed nothing.  Well to him she probably didn't.

"Don't," he growled warningly.

Ruby remained where she was, rubbing her neck and quietly catching her breath.  Quartz looked away, simmering.  Behind him the rest of the crew shifted uneasily as the immediate silence deepened uncomfortably.  The ambient night life around them seemed to be of a different world, the "normal" world that all of them at least in this moment wished they were part of.  The "normal" world was safe.  Their immediate future contained more danger than they were used to.

Quartz eventually looked up, his slightly flared wings and lowered tail indicating definite annoyance.  "Did you know?" he demanded, his voice low and dangerous.

Ruby frowned.  "I knew they hung out," she answered carefully, "I didn't know she'd claimed him."

Quartz's lip curled, baring his fangs.  They were in some serious shit.  "Didn't know? Or blinded by bitcoin?"

-=o=-

Patreons get the actual script excerpt this scene comes from.  It's a bit longer and slightly spoilerific.

The "bitcoin" currency they use in AER is actually some far future version of bitcoin, which I initially had fun developing a platonic solids based coin system for before I simplified it down to bits and bobs because money that divides down that much does my meagre dyscalculiac brain in.  Then I went through a phase of wondering if I should have the economy based more on a bartering kind of system and have the currency be time (hours, minutes, possibly seconds) but didn't change it as at the time (that is also going to do my head in!) there were a couple of things I couldn't work out how to price (those have since been resolved so I can now use it if I wanted to).  It is however nice and universal in a way that dollars aren't really, and it seems perfectly plausible as other people (or at least @internutter) use a time currency.

Then I started hanging out on Steemit and through there learning about VIVA, and am wondering if I should use steem as the currency instead.  If for no other reason than it has a nice ring to it XD


This post also appears on my blog and Patreon.

sig

Patreon | ArtStation | deviantART | Weasyl | Wysp | Picarto

Sort:  

Nice! I really like the play of words on the names. Ruby Quartz haha! The details are great and the action flowed really well. This really has the power to draw readers in, and is a sufficient enough teaser to keep them on the hook! I really wish you added more on here though haha As much as I want to support you on Patreon, I fear that I have no money to spend on such :( If only STEEM was an accepted currency there, too!

Naww thanks ^_^ I know it's hard, I've only just gotten into a position where I can chip a measly dollar to a few people I want to send money to. But I'm doing pretty all right on here and STEEM is a perfectly acceptable currency XD As I mentioned in the footnote I'm seriously contemplating changing up the global currency in that universe to steem. It's a pretty strong contender with time XD

Glad you like my writing! These characters are only in a couple of scenes. I was trying to work out if I should storify the entire conversation that occurs but it's harder for these kinds of pieces as this is actually in the series I'm working on right now (in I-vii to be precise), I don't want to spoil too much! Although by the time I get around to releasing people would likely have already forgotten about these pieces XD

Just post what you feel is comfortable. It's definitely good to post regularly to remind people, but if it doesn't jive with your strategy, then don't force it :)

I...don't actually have a strategy. I'm under the impression I probably should do but I'm kind of one of those make it and they will come if they're interested kinda people. I would love to make money off this thing but despite the Patreon that's not the primary goal, otherwise I'd make something mainstream that I knew a lot of would like. I have way too many failure points built into this thing.

I'd actually love to post more, however that requires time to make more stuff faster than I currently am.

That's the thing though, the strategy I'm talking about is (or should be) built around the time you can allot :D Personally, I post things that I'm interested in, hoping it could draw in like-minded people. I've met quite a few awesome individuals (yourself included), and I'm holding out hope that earnings would follow in the not-so distant future. Right now, I'm just enjoying the whole ride, and my main strategy is to just keep posting content to show off what I have :D

That (posting things hoping to draw in like-minded people) is probably about the extent of my strategy XD

ps - my notifications seem to be borked again o_O

I think everyone's notifications got borked because of the recent hardfork haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34