Game of thrones, map of Westeros and Essos. Airbrush drawing process

in #art7 years ago

One day I decided to decorate the door in the bedroom, and I chose a map of lands from the "Song of Ice and Fire" (yes, I'm a fan).Also i painted the shoe box with the great houses coats of arms , but i didn't make photo :-(((
h_1495658235_1144047_34c29aa5e2.jpg
The original image from which I drew
It turned out about 25 hours of work. That doesn't include the preparation of the surface, the cutting of stencils. It's about 2-3 more hours. So, first primed the surface. Before this, i have to sandish, cause the surface is smooth. But I decided to skip this stage for various reasons (i did it on the door in my apartment, so it's not scary if flaky). Then I adjusted the map to the size of the door, opened it, cut out the outline. The whole surface of the door was painted with a roller. The preparation of the stencils took time, but I blew it very quickly and simply, and the outlines of the map were clear and neat on the outside, and from the inside a beautiful gradient. Actually on this work the airbrush is finished, further I work with a simple brush.
2.jpg
3.jpg4.jpg

Paints ordinary acrylic in tubes, diluted with water. The airbrush is also cheap, it cost 25$. For the background I used a white building paint in a bucket mixed with acrylic.
The signatures on the card took 90% of the time. To be honest, I didn't think it would take so long ... well, I practiced in calligraphy. First I chose a font, the font was slightly different on the original picture. And I relied on the font from the original and the Gothic font found on the Internet.
Before drawing the inscriptions, I marked with pencil and ruler the places of future inscriptions, so that the letters were of the same height. After everything has written and the paint has dried up, I erased the pencil markings with an eraser. But the idea with the pencil marking turned out to be bad: there were traces of the eraser. They can see the current from a very close distance and at a certain angle, but I'm upset ... learn from mistakes5.jpg

After the inscriptions and all the designations are applied, I take an airbrush again and blow out the dark areas inside the map, where the trees are.
When all dried up, I put the varnish with a roller. I do not remember that the lacquer was ... odorless, half-dead, in a bucket. I put a varnish in 2 layers.
So the door is ready. Did in the spring of 2016 and keeps everything
1.jpg

The other side of the door was painted too. Post about this will be soon.
Thanks for watching
Sincerely yours,
Chesheera

Sort:  

Great idea!!!

Nice worck @rubra

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65754.91
ETH 2670.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88