🎨 Not a Christmas thing!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I live in a small town in the hills of south east Germany and there are a lot of old small tunnels everywhere. According to a legend, small elfin like goblins dug them, as they are very narrow and an adult can only crawl through them. We call these little guys who supposedly built all that "Schratzl" and they are also the city mascot. For the 900 year celebrations, the mayor commissioned me to draw one of them...

schratzl-0.jpg

I'm just realizing, that most people probably associate the colors with Christmas, but in this case, they are the colors of our flag, which I used as the back ground.


My first drawing was one of a little miner, as to me that is the main aspect.

schratzl_1a.png

The mayor found him a bit too serious and wanted him to look more like a version I had drawn for a different project

schratzl-1b.png

So here is the Schratzl with the new face and a slightly different outfit

Schratzl-2.png



And finally the whole figure with the right back ground

schratzl-fin.jpg

A few years later the fire department contacted me, because they started a "Kinderfeuerwehr", the Kids fire fighters. They were not really called to real fires, but trained in a more playful way to get an interest in fire fighting and maybe later join the crew.

As a mascot for their T-shirts they wanted a Schratzl fire fighter, which I created for them, based on the original design

SchratzlFeuerwehr-3.png


I enjoy reading your comments!


If you like my work, of course I appreciate your upvotes and resteems




appendix-2_01.png
appendix-2_02.pngappendix-2_03.pngappendix-2_04.pngappendix-2_05.png


pfeil-3.png

View all my pictures I posted here on steemit!
Viewer discretion advised, nsfw pictures visible without warning!



All photos/scans by me of my own artwork

sig-2017-1.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @reinhard-schmid! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It's so interesting to see ''the other'' side of your work. like it but must say I love that one they said it's too serious. What a wonderful illustrations for books you would make!

A big thank you for your kind comment. Yes, I still like the original figure the best too, but I guess, it wasn't cute enough...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43