Watercolor Painting - Country Cottage and Garden (Wip)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

WIP=Work In Progress

Background's First Layer of Color

With Watercolor one has to work from light to dark because the paint is translucent and will lift up when the wet paint is applied. The first layers are the light colors that will show where the sun hits the leaves. I will now apply paint for the shadows and defining the tree's leaf patterns.

I worked on the fence to see how I would apply the paint and colors to carry the patterns of what is behind the fence and the shadows of the lattice pattern. I am happy with how it turned out and will continue the pattern. I've never done a lattice fence, and I usually work on the areas I don't know exactly what to do and work out a system. That is the fun part for me, figuring out a system I can use to keep consistency throughout the painting, and it speeds up the painting process.

If I put off the hard parts of the painting many times I won't finish the painting. This is part of an artist getting to know their weak areas and dealing with them correctly so they won't get in the way. My Buddhist teacher's called this their little tricks on how to work through long meditation retreats. You develop little tricks to work with yourself, part of getting to know who you are and how you work. That is why painting is a lot like meditation.

22 x 30 inch cold press, 300lb cotton watercolor paper

I had to enhance the drawing with some filters on my iPad so you can see the lines. The lines in normal light hardly show up, and the paper is an off-white. The filter not only enhanced my pencil lines but they also caught the texture of my cold press watercolor paper.


  • Art And Writing Projects For June 2018.
  • 1. Cottage And Butterfly (WIP)

  • some_text A link to My Blog

    Sort:  

    Hello @reddust
    A wonderful painting thank you for sharing with us and clarifications of what you are doing and the stages to be cut by the panel to be completed
    I missed my girlfriend with you for a while I did not see your publication

    @klasanaj, this is a happy little painting! I usually don't post a lot after a long writing series, it drains the energy out of me and I need to take a break. I am not a machine...lolol

    Thank you <3

    Work in progress, sure but I'm glad to see you back painting. We must never let go of our skills, if we don't practice we gonna forget the art. I'm so happy that you have started to paint again. Will see how this one goes.

    Looking forward to seeing more of your painting. Wish you luck my dear.

    @wa2qr, thank you for your support, it means the world to me. I love the social interaction and critiques I get here on Steemit. Sometimes my writing is in conflict with my painting. I have asked my husband to help me with research on my writing projects so now I have more time to paint. You can thank my husband! <3

    Well sure I thank your husband. Don't know him though. What can I call you by the way ?
    Followed you, this way I can keep track of your work so nothing is missed. Cheers and have a good time

    Well yes it does really sounds helpful and by the way of it if we get to know our weak points than we will be able to focus on it and make particular improvements to those points.

    The sketch is looking now than the colored one , while hoping to see the colored one to be more amazing once it is done :)

    I found the weak areas are also some of my strongest once I figure out how to work around or improve my intentions/awarness, and technique. Painting is another way to get to know who we are.

    @rehan12, You know color is my favorite part...hahaha

    I sure would have chosen to try out my luck in painting but lolz I should better not to do that ;)

    Your work is wonderful. Everything you are doing looks so good and seems so real. We are some artists, you make wonderful drawings and I make some pretty beautiful cakes.😍😊😍

    Thank you @denissemata, I wish I felt everything I do is wonderful...hahaha, you are as sweet as your lovely cakes my dear friend. Thank you <3

    Wow I’m loving the foundation color already
    This is gonna be amazing my friend
    I can’t wait to see the completed work

    I can't wait either--wait, I can't think that way or I may not finish more work, another trick on how to finish a complicated project ...hahaha

    Yes you said very well in the description and every method of art is very nice 8 and you and your pola system are very good thanks to share this wonderful art with you.

    Excellent watercolor painting, previous day you just post the pencil sketch of this art, and today you colour most of the part of this drawing.. looking so colourful and gorgeous, I think next day you will finish your task. Hope for the best.

    I will spend at least 4 hours on this painting today and the rest of the day I have to compile my Buddhist history research and notes into some kind of outline for my series...soooo boring compared to painting. I think I will get my husband to do this part ;-)

    Thank you @abontikazaman

    That is a Lovely an Amazing Artist Drawing Really Appreciate it 😍 I Must say You are One of the Best Artiste 😊

    @amsakhan, I don't know if I am one of the best, have you seen the quality artist here on Steemit?...mind blowing! Thank you for your compliment and I will take it...hehehe <3

    I'm really happy to see your watercolor painting work again @reddust. You have great thinking for improve painting. Nice visualization indeed there mam. I appreciate your art work.

    Thank you @templeflower, each little layer of color brings out the color and form of the object, this layering of color is the fun part for me.

    what i can see is that you are very good at drawing
    you are too much inspired by bhuddism!
    bdw these are some good paintings

    @muzaifwani, Buddhism gave me a base to work from when painting my life ;-)

    you will get further assistance from bhuddism as well
    keep learning and sharing with us

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.16
    TRX 0.16
    JST 0.031
    BTC 59117.01
    ETH 2525.11
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.48