Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds (aquarelle, 2014)

in #art7 years ago

lucy_in_the_sky_with_diamonds_by_xuniap-d7msgvd.jpg

First real post here, hurrah! Starting off with a drawing/painting I did a couple years ago and which I'm still very proud of.

This is Lucy 😊 Obviously inspired by the amazing Beatles song.
She's the first in a series of paintings I've been wanting to do for a long time. Currently, I'm working on "Go Ask Alice" and I hope I'll be able to share her with you soon! Other planned pieces for this series are "See Emily Play" and "Hazey Jane", among others - don't want to spoil too much 😉 But I think you can see the theme I'm going for.

Looking back at this, I see many things that I could've done better - anatomy for one. But I feel like the composition kinda compensates for that and it's one of my favourite and probably best works. Maybe I'll re-do her sometime since by now I've switched to acrylics as a main medium and maybe I could make it look even more colorful and vibrant.

But compare it to the old/original version 3 years before. I've improved a lot in-between, and I hope even more since 2014.

Constructive criticism is very welcome and appreciated! 😊
Also, can you spot the references to the song lyrics? There are at least 5, but maybe you can even think of some more 😛

Sort:  

1 : A girl with kaleidoscope eyes
2 : tangerine trees
hey, am not an artist but i could point that out...lol,cool painting.nice tags too!

Very interesting girl. I love the Beatles. Reminds me of Adventure Time, a cartoon of a kid and his dog and they have amazing adventures. Wacky and awesome.

Congratulations @raycat! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63679.06
ETH 2628.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83