#SculptJanuary19 Day 4 and 5 | "Don't be Hasty Master Meriadoc!"

in #art5 years ago

Hi, everyone! I want to share my 4th and 5th sculptures for one of the challenges I'm currently participating. Mhm, I'm doing 2 challenges at once, and doing another project for my portfolio. No wonder I'm a bit behind on the challenge. But hopefully I can finish all of them by the end of the month. 

However, this sculpture proved to be not a really good thing for me to do 3d modelling in a hurry like this. I wanted to create Celebrimbor from The Lord of the Rings--from the game Shadow of Mordor to be exact--but I ended up butchered his hair. 

 

#SculptJanuary19 Day 4 | Attribute: Rotten


I was doing quite well on the face, if I may say so myself, but not on the hair. When I'm asking around in Blender community, doing hair is difficult. You should spend a lot of time if you want to get a decent looking sculpted hair. My mistake, I think, was stopped midway of sculpting the hair then trying another method, which is using hair particle, only to stop midway again and decided to sculpt it because it looked even worse. 

The other entry's theme is "Objects: Spherical". I saw a lot of people forgot that the challenge is to sculpt, not to simply block-model a subdivided cube, adding modifiers, extruding some parts, etc. So this one is a bit trickier than expected. 


Click to see in bigger resolution.

#SculptJanuary19 Day 5 | Objects: Spherical


I was going to just render one of these wacky skull-shaped bombs and be done with it, but the whole thing didn't look render-worthy. Not sure how or why, I decided to make a dad joke instead. 

I think what I need is not to drop one challenge to focus on the other, rather practice to work within deadline and complete both challenges in style. Wait, does that mean I have 3 challenges now?

Anyway, these two may not be that great, and I hope I can do better next time. That is what this challenge is for: improvement. Maybe for the next one I'll include the step by step process. Thank you for stopping by, Steemian! I'll see you in the next one. Coming up next: "Minimalistic: Tiny".


Do you sculpt? If you do digitally or traditionally, you can join the challenge if you're interested to improve your skill and win something. Click the logo on the left to go to the official page to find out how!

 



Click the icons below to join some of the best Steemit community on Discord where you can meet and hang out with awesome fellow gamers and artists, and help each other grow.

      


©2018 Adam Rainite Lawsone
Sort:  

Congratulations @rainite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 400 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Congratulations @rainite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It is looking pretty good 😄 I remember finding particle hair a lot easier than polygon hair but I’m weird.

Yeh you’re a bit crazy tackling so many major projects at once 🤣 good luck with all of them 😄

Posted using Partiko iOS

These are cool, @rainite ! Love them ! You have so many projects :OOOOO

Good luck with ALL of them \o/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83