New Redux! Save a Cow, Ride a Horseboy.

in #art3 years ago

Save a Cow Ride a Horseboy.jpg

Hi Steemit! I'm not sure what's kept me away so long. I've been busy, so I have a couple posts to make in the coming days. This one comes with a back story.

All the way back to 2005 or so, when I was going to university. I was in a BFA program, as maybe you'd imagine. One of the units was painting from a live model. Well, not only did I not finish the program, I put all my paintings from school away for several years while I tried my hand at other things like retail, dancing, nannying, learning Finnish, and making dolls.

I think it was 2011, right after a break-up with some dude whose X-Box I was in love with, that I realized my memories were all Fable and Skyrim. Nothing meaningful, really. I mean, outside of almost smashing into someone on a bike I didn't know how to ride down a steep hill, and him pointing to every plant and calling it "medicine". He could never answer me, for what. Oh, also he once ate a full 750 ml of yogurt so he could kidnap frogs from Algonquin region. I was so angry. I wanted to eat some of that yogurt.

Anyway. I decided never to waste my precious minutes again. I went back to painting. I pulled out my old university canvases, and among other things, I altered the live model I'd painted to look like this:

image.png

In 2013 or so, I had it up in a month-long show at a little bar called the Press Club - now The Lucky Shrike. I was told it was just about THE most talked-about piece they'd ever had on the wall. And soon after that, I sold it to my favourite barber. All this before Bojack came out.

Cut to a few weeks ago, I get tagged in a post on a local fringe group called Weird Toronto, where the old fella was last seen floating around the Annex area (I think). I find out through the post that he'd been bouncing around since 2016.

A share or two later of that post, I decide it's time for a redux, and here you have it. Uniman 2.0; Save a Cow, Ride a Horseboy. I might do it again in another decade or so, see where my skills can develop to.

AND! Now I have another piece or two in mind to redux. So outside of the rest of the work I've been at since last post, I think I have some ideas floating in.

Cheers to that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79