NEW PAINTING! Secret Worlds.

in #art5 years ago

Secret Worlds tw (not print version).jpg

Less tired today. Didn't get enough sleep, but I still feel better for not working too hard yesterday. My muscles feel grateful about that. I did all I was able to do with the time I was willing to spend waiting, so today I'll just have to pick up some slack on my theater set pieces.

After I came home, I lounged for a couple hours with some tea, then I worked on this piece, and another project that had been waiting for some final touches for just about forever. Finally finished it.

I decided to call it secret worlds, because of the different microcosms fitted into each other. A scene from the Bruce trail is the outermost, although it is not the focal world. Out there, everything is wild and green, untamed. Next world is the indoor world, a manicured world where nature is not allowed unless it is tamed. It has both a window out, and a window into the next world, which is the cultivation spot of some very wild and rowdy flowers. They have a limited space in which to flourish, but beneath them is the next world. Underwater, two jellyfish swim around merrily, as if unaware of how small their universe bubble is. They two have a smaller world to look into - a ship in a bottle. If I had the skill, I would go very small and fill that ship with a crew, maybe give them a terrarium, but we get the picture here.

Each dwelling place in our world is within another, and hosts many. So many secrets that we keep trying to unravel.

Ok. Work time again!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

Sort:  

Hi rachelsvparry,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow that is a really good painting. I first looked at it and was like wow then I started to read about your day and then more about the painting and went back to it and looked again and all the sudden so much more popped. Congrats on the Curie vote and hope to see more soon.

Thank you so much, @stever82, I hope so too. :)

It is a painting of secret worlds indeed :) I enjoyed reading the background story to this painting and agree with your sentences:

Each dwelling place in our world is within another, and hosts many. So many secrets that we keep trying to unravel.

How true! I love how mystical the painting looks and how each world encaves another world within them. The painting of the flowers and the cat heads are very realistic too. Thank you for sharing your art with us :)

My pleasure, @marblely! Thank you so much. I love the surreal, and the introspection it welcomes. :)

I like your interpretation of those secret worlds. Especially the one about jelly fish swimming around unaware of the size of their bubble. It's a great painting. Very creative with some lovely ideas inside. I like the flowers with cat heads even though it's a bit creepy. Actually it's somehow cute and creepy at the same time :D The outside world indeed looks rough and wild. I wonder what would happen if you would open that window :)

Pink and green it's a great color combination. I can see that you put a lot of love and effort into your painting. It truly is beautiful.

Thank you for sharing!

Thanks so much, @delishtreats! I always find it so interesting the different reactions people have to unusual images. They are kind of creepy! Probably not as creepy as this piece I made first - La Tristesse Durera Toujours tw.jpg- Which is a tribute to Van Gogh. All of my little faces on his flowers, because he loved sunflowers, and because he did so many self-portraits.

Whoah!!! Hahaha! That is an amazing painting! I would love to have this on my wall! OMG! 😂

The flower look pretty and creepy a bit with the head of cats. You have painted the cat head so natural. I love it. I always admire artist, they could present their imagination and message into a form of art. And I love the jelly fish, it so cute. I also like how you color the whole painting, pink with green. It made the flower and jelly fish so attractive. It really look like a secret world. If I have a chance, maybe I would like to pay a visit as well after look at your drawing. It not scary at all.

It worth to wait for you to complete this painting :)

Thank you @oliviackl! I don't think you would be creeped out in person. They're pretty cute once you get to know them. If you're in Toronto, let me know! I have some work up in a few places. :)

Thanks @rachelsvparry, definitely will pay you a visit when i happen in toronto:)

It's funny that I couldn't help laughing at myself after I realized what I missed. 😊 All I saw on the painting are plant with flowers on a window sill and the outside world is green. I did not notice the animals until I read on...

On the first look at the cats, I thought their faces were just pasted. Then I zoomed my phone display and noted that they are part of the painting. 😊 The jellyfishes are lovely. This is my very first time to see violet jellyfish.

Overall, I like how you portrayed a secret world like that. I totally agree that there are so many secrets that we try to discover in obe way or another. What have you discovered in this secret world, so far?

Thanks you @macoolette! I'm glad you zoomed in, I think the cat faces are the most fun in the whole piece.

As the artist, I would have to say that my best discovery in this little world I've made is watching everyone else make discoveries in it. I'm seeing delight, and I love it. :)

I'm looking at the painting now on a laptop and I clearly see the cats. That is what small and big screens can do. 😊

my best discovery in this little world I've made is watching everyone else make discoveries in it.

You're very clever! Your paintings are puzzles then. 😊

I like to think so!

Amazing thing, technology! I didn't have internet access at all until I was 12-ish, and then it was only dial-up. Now, we have tiny computers that we carry around everywhere!

Yap, that's the wonder of technology... 😊

Your Secret worlds artwork remind me Alice in wonderland The I believe is the concept and the cat, he/she looks like Cheshire xD... How much time take you to finish? I love the details: the "bottle" I guess, whit the ship inside Amazing.

Thanks @wisejg! I love Alice in Wonderland. I think that's one of the stories of my youth that influences most of my artistic decisions in some way.

It took me a couple weeks. I think this would have been one of my faster pieces, because I felt engaged by it (I can work for much longer hours on the ones I feel engaged by). I've been working between 4 and 6 odd jobs this past while, so I haven't been able to paint as much. Hopefully I can get back to my regular hours by midway next week. :)

I recently commened on another surrealistic painting and it also looked like a jellyfish was in a flower. Weird coincidence. I like how you rendered the bowl and it's content's form. It's definitely eye catching and creates curious impressions.

Thank you so much, @adamada. :)

How sweet your composition is, love the little kittens in the middle of flowers. This is like in Alice in Wonderland where everything is possible. Love these pink petals fit very well to the green colors of leaves. Only my worry is I do not see any water some of water if the kitten will be able to survive it :( Like the idea of little bottle post on the bottom of water tank. And of course the whole idea of windowsill and the secret worlds could have double meaning either the strange world outside or inside, but as an artist I believe you left it for viewer to decide.

Thank you, @stef1! It's hard to see the water, since I left it crystal-clear, there's just that tiny line right at the base of the neck of the vase that shows you it's there. I'm sure the flowers and the jellyfish would be grateful for your concern. ;)

I think ultimately, it's always up to the viewer to decide what media means to them. I can only make art from my ideas, once it reaches your eyes, the rest is up to you. :)

Oh Rachel ! This is finally done \o/ Really wonderfully painted :D I love all the secret worlds that you included in this and having been following you throughout, this is such a great finish for this picture <3

Love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28