Finished Painting!! CITIZEN KONG! 16x20" Oil on canvas.

in #art6 years ago

Citizen Kong tw.jpg

I'm calling it! It's time for a new project. I'm happy with it, and if I end up adding more into it down the road, so be it. If not, that's how it is.

Citizen Kong! Citizen Kane meets King Kong, in the Planet of the Apes (Just hinted at by the half-buried Statue of Liberty outside the window. Scale is less obvious in this piece without small Planet of the Apes people around to mourn, and the Empire State is not super obvious in the snow globe, but I hope the painting of Fay Wray and the title do enough to give the viewer a keen idea of what this mash-up is about.

The story in my head, is of Kong, rejected by the people of earth, travels far, far away to where he is unknown, but to where among people more like him, he is allowed to rise from obscurity to staggering heights (more than physically). To the people of the Planet of the Apes, he is a mystery. Only small clues and his dying words lead them into an investigative journey of his mysterious past.

Now I need to focus on a few new pieces.My cats-replacement project, where I replace characters in iconic scenes with cats. My Iliad series, the closest to classical poesie that I've gotten, and everything unfinished in my midst. But first, comedy and clown festival. Whee!

[email protected] for purchase inquiries and commissions.
Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/RachelSVParry/
Twitter - https://twitter.com/RachelSVParry
Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/rachelsvparry/

And here are all the progress phases:

Citizen Kong.jpg

Citizen Kong 1.jpg

Citizen Kong 1.1.jpg

Citizen Kong 1.2.jpg

Citizen Kong 1.3.jpg

Sort:  

This is just fantastic , thanks for sharing your art with us, and very funny reference too :P my type of art !

Thank you so much, @edprivat! I really appreciate it!

Wow! This is amazing! Really nice work here.

Incredible art. Added to our curation list
Courtesy of @nmalove

I love this so much! The concept is just great. Something about a gorilla sleeping in an ornate bed with upholstered headboard is cracking me up. I don't think I would have caught the very subtle Statue of Liberty out the window but now that you mention it I totally see it. I think my favorite bit is the portrait of the woman on the wall, which I am sure has some kind of significance but I am loving it for her expression even without knowing what that is :) You rock! Much love - Carl

Thank you, Carl! I'm glad you like my sense of humour! :D

Yeah, the statue of liberty is very subtle. I wouldn't expect anyone to see it for what I mean it to be without an explanation. It's less formed than most of the foreground. :D

The woman is meant to be Fay Wray, the actor who was King Kong's interest in the original movies. Fun fact - she was selected for the role for her scream alone! :D

You also rock!

Wow!
These artworks are splendid

Thank you very much! :)

I really like all the little allusion scattered thoughout. Each time I look, I catch a new thing - like the contents of the snow globe. I also like the way the colors and the style suit the mood of the painting. Annnd, I'm a sucker for paintings in paintings, so yay for Wray.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79