🙌 South Africa is Kiff 🙌 Creative Packaging 🙌

in #art7 years ago

KIFF. Whatever the fok does that mean, MewMew?

Kiff is literally the best South African word in the entire universe. It means cool or great. It's just the epitome of South African slang.

I found this on Urban Dictionary :
source

kiff
A word that is derived from the Afrikaans word for poison, "gif". This was used by coastal pot smokers to describe a strain of natural skunk that is called Durban Poison. The word evolved into kiff, amongst English speaking Natalians (Durban is in Natal) describing anything that is bad or wicked or simply the best.

HAHA! I don't know too much about it coming from a strain of marijuana, but I can absolutely believe that, especially from Durban. Stoners Galore.

So why am I telling you that South Africa is kiff? Because we have some of the coolest packaging ever.

Over the last week or so, I've snapped a few pics of some food/spice packaging that is sold here. I hope you enjoy. I think they are pretty darn kiff.

IMG_5604 copy.jpg

Cartwright's Curry Powder

I love the Art Deco style font in this logo. The use of primary colours is so simple that it is almost rudimental, but it works.

IMG_5601.jpg

Pakco's Roasted Masala Curry Powder

I just love the subtlety of this design. The muted colours and palm tree speak of faded desert scenes , almost as if viewed through a mirage.

IMG_5605.jpg

Rajah Curry Powder

Rajah's is a very old brand here, and where I think some modern advertising students may deem this cultural appropriation or something along those lines - I personally like it very much, as it speaks of a brand that always been part of our lives as South Africans.

IMG_5608.jpg

Sharwood's Cooking Sauce

Sharwood's - Also an older brand here. I love how the font is almost Chinese, when they are selling an Indian product. They do say the brand dates back to 1889, so I suppose they weren't all that aware of the difference between the two countries back then - LOL!

ladies.jpeg

Senorita Peri Peri Sauce/The Little Devil Sauce

I think the kitchness of this bottle speaks for itself. I found this in a not so savoury area of Cape Town, in a small grocers.

IMG_5606.jpg

Cape Herb & Spice Rubs

I love the clean feeling this design gives off. On closer inspection, it's an incredibly simple design, but it works. I want to buy that!

IMG_5607.jpg

Spice and All Things Nice's Cous Cous Mixture

I find this design so pretty. It feels upmarket, expensive and, I don't know why, but it feels healthy to me. Hhmm. Psychological games!

What do you think of this little post I have put together for you? I was thinking to do one once a week. Let me know if you'd like to see more!

Til then, Ciao!

mewmewfooter.jpg

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

Sort:  

Brilliant post XXX @princessmewmew

Yay! I am so glad you are here!

Wow those designs are nice! Especially the Senorita Peri Peri Sauce one LOL 🤣🤣

Always interesting to see the creativity of people from another continent! I would like to see more of these.

Cheers!

Awesome! Thank you for your comment, I appreciate it. I will put together another post like this next week.

And mrs balls chutney? That needs to make the list next time 😊😊😊 oh and kiff is also German for weed (or as a verb, to smoke weed) although I think it’s spelt differently.

yeah - kief! Of course I know about da weed!

Yeah, I wanted to keep it to an orange theme tonight. Definitely going to include some other close to the heart brands next time.

Mrs Balls, I presume?

LOLOLOL how can anyone say that with a straight face, is beyond me.

Languages are so funny. They don’t always translate the same nor do they always keep their original meaning. Is it common to this word?

Yeah, everyooone says this. It's a very commonly used word. kiff and lekker which means nice.

LEKKER!

How fancy is that!

Hahaha, not really fancy at all. I suppose posh people would consider it common even ☺️

It is so surprising that such a famous word like kiff was originally from strain of marijuana yet the meaning of the word today Have nothing to do with its original meaning. I really amazed by the simple yet captivating design for these packages.i give kudos to any who deed those designs.

What a small world. I was just telling my hubby that package design, which we used to do for some brand name companies, are so commercialized, compared to some European products. Now, you go sharing Art and even the hot sauce nude sculpture design...I think we are slipping into a
syncro-Steemit vibe.
This is happening frequently,
and it makes for more of a connection for reader and blogger...strange but true...for me what about you?
Great cultural artistic piece,
you have written well.
L

Thank you very much. It must be some sort of Steemit Matrix 💓

This was a kiff post😁. South Africa seems to have a lot of kiff stuff and I hope to visit one day.
Can I use kiff for "awesome"?

You can indeed! It’s just the best word ever!

This is a kiff post, EKSE @princessmewmew

I love graphics like these in advertising. Its an art unto itself. I also smiled at Kiff and I only know this word because of Die Antwoord :) Yes, please, do more such posts. Maybe I should gather up some fun graphics like this as well. Maybe you should make up a new # for it.

Hahah oh noes! Die Antwoord is awful. Do you know their old stuff? Back when it was just Max Normal? Look it up - it’s sooo good.

God how lovely packaging can be. it's an artform in and of itself I tell ya. Lovely examples Mew !

Yes it is! I think we have our own special flavor for packaging here though! X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63478.31
ETH 2604.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83