MELVIN SOKOLSKY: MASTERPIECES WITHOUT PHOTOSHOP

in #art5 years ago

melvin-sokolsky-mode-bulle-paris-09-e1431336893888.jpg
melvin-sokolsky-mode-bulle-paris-08-e1431336881616.jpg

"Just admit it's Photoshop, “people tell new York-based photographer Melvin Sokolsky at the sight of the legendary” Bubble" photo series for Harper's Bazaar. "But it was 1963,” he replies. “Did you know that I invented photoshop? I tried to sell it to Adobe, but they did not fit the price. It took the company 20 years to pay me $ 22 million and get the program." People prefer to believe in this story, invented by Melvin, because it is extremely difficult to believe that more than 50 years ago it was possible to create such pictures without the help of a photo editor. But the only thing that was cleaned in the pictures — the cable on which hung, suspended on a crane, bubble.
The inspiration for the series "Bubble"was a picture of Bosch's "Garden of earthly delights".
earthlydelights.jpg
Sokolsky told me that he had a dream in which he flies in a bubble over exotic landscapes. That's the idea he used. And since the photographer admired the design and appearance of the Faberge egg, the bubble for shooting was made in his likeness. And what seemed at first absolutely impossible, turned into reality. Sokolsky himself commented on the preparation process: "Realizing that most of my life I live in my own head and that I am prone to extremely harsh self-criticism, I began to doubt whether I would be able to recreate on film the images that exist in my imagination."
melvin-sokolosky-4-e1431336868766.jpg
dXbeBT6TsAA.jpg

After the bubble was ready, the photographer went to Paris, where he rented his favorite model Simone D Alencar on the landscape of the city.
7u1FmJ9fL94.jpg
xLtQACFrPF8.jpg
1_35_over_ny_RM-e1431336853318.jpg

Sort:  

Круто

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00