Custom-made Tinkerbell engagement ring box

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Here I present you handmade, Disney Tinkerbell inspired engagement ring box. This project was originally posted here http://themodelmaker.net/tinker-bell-engagement and it remained one of the kind to this day.
You probably are getting bored with engagement ring boxes, but what can I do, I accidentally co-created this niche over the past few years and this is the main kind of commissions I am getting as an artist. I need to pay the bills or material costs for my personal projects :) It is often hard with custom-made objects where the time for development and experimentation is excluded from the price of the finished product, silly me :) I took this on me as an art training what helped me develop my skills. Now thanks to Steemit, I can share it and get some value back, thanks to your upvotes.

The whole thing was made from scratch. I used my laser cutter to cut the acrylic plastic sheets designed to look like the lantern from the movie. The top section was made of stacked circles glued together filled with filler and sanded smooth to get the cone shape. Inside this part, there is a compartment for 3 button batteries and white LED which can be switched on and off by twisting the top hanger.
On the bottom part, there is quote Chris chose: “A dream is a wish your heart makes” which comes from the song from Disney’s Cinderella. It was also build as stack of acrylic circles, letters are cut in a sheet of paper and glued around it.

The figurine of Tinker Bell was sculpted in Green Stuff. I often use it for detailed pieces which need some more durability than polymer clay. It is 2 parts epoxy putty, blue and yellow, you mix it in even parts and sculpt. After 2 hours it becomes solid, so you need to sculpt fast. It sticks to itself very well so I can work in sections. First I sculpted head, hands, and legs on top of the pins and at the end, I merged them with the body in the middle. The little wings are made of a transparent acetate plastic with a pattern engraved with a sharp knife.
I painted the lantern with golden spray paint masking the glass sections first. The figurine is painted with acrylics using very fine brushes. From What I know, Chris proposed to his girlfriend in Disneyland, she said YES and liked her box. Another satisfied customer.
If you like what you see here, browse my other projects on Steemit, 2 days ago I posted the ring box based on Rapunzel Tower from Tangled, you might miss it and was probably one of my favorite builds. Thanks for dropping by and taking time to check my posts. I hope you enjoyed the article. See you next time!

Sort:  

It looks so sweet I can make my marriage proposal in this box. :D

Thanks. This one is taken and I am not planning to make another. This photos and memories is what left for me. Always hard to send the few weeks of work to the client :)

This is really cool!

Thanks. Happy to see you enjoy them. I build this kind of things for few years now. They were all like little courses in modelmaking, sculpting and painting. I enjoyed building them, I hope people enjoy reading about them.

If I had 1SBD for all the things I see and like on steemit, that I didn't know I would like...

I guess the closest you can get to that are curation rewards :) Thanks for supporting my work recently

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71