Welcome To My Cafe, Art Process (and the journey of suffering with failure)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Story of Ave

"Welcome to my café!..

Agh that was some bad acting there

Well, it's not really mine, but it's my mothers haha. I have been working for this place for quite a long time, it's the only income we have in my family.

Oh man, I can't wait to get out of this place, the maid dress may look pretty, but it's super hot when you wear it upon hours and hours while running and feel the heat of the kitchen..

I want to be a doctor maybe, but I have doubts my family is going to approve of that.. Heh"

-Ave
20th August 20XX

"My mom.. Has fallen ill, I can't believe it.

I'm the only one who can run this place- I mean I don't know how these stuff works! I know accounting atleast but cooking?! I- oh god oh god- mom- I'm so sorry, I didn't mean to dissapoint. I don't know anymore"

-Ave
1st October 20XX

"Today, I am doing.. Okay, it's my first time doing this and opening the cafe again, it's the only income, I'll get I have to work hard for this"
-Ave
2nd October 20XX

Yello streamer danger

Welcome toooooo this post. Today, we are going to take a break.. From all of my creepy and spooky stuff, lets get into something cute, that totally won't have a sad and tragic arc and ending heheueheu, heheheheh MWAHAHAHAHHAHAH.. into the cafe!!!

"shut the fuck up maya" no u, inner doubts.

Though.. I've been noticing my "deeper" and "vent-ish" art gets noticed more than the ones that are cute, not complaining, but ya know, I know my audience

I am kindaaa not sick, the headache is almost gone thankfully huzzah!

~Thoughts On art~

I am .. Proud LEL, I love it, I mean, it took a lot of time to just get the stupid colors and background and mood right, but hey I will know that it was worth it in the end.

Though what I am not proud of is the faceeee, and I was redrawing it over and over and over and its super frustrating that some stuff is not what I envisioned in the first place.

Btw I was dreaming to make some weird old cafe game, its not like pay 2 play type of game cough more like theres a story and you can level up. Like stardew valley! Man I can't wait to actually have the tools to make it and the knowledge ofcourse.

Aghhh its like reality vs expectations bullcrap XD oh well~ lets just get into the process

Process

The first thing that any other sane artist do.... SKEEEEEETCH whoop

So at this part, I was really trying to know which part will have lighting and shading at this. I try to do my art in my.. "Old fashion way" nowadays I do art as fast as I could. But noww I'm just gonna take my time and resstt. Thought that doesnt mean I'm procrastinating

And you know I was trying so hard to not do lineart, because aaaghhh it would be a nightmare but then I have tooo ughhh.

L-ine art?!?! Thats right... Line art... My old enemy, heheh... Never thought I'll have to face you again lineart, but I.. I have now mastered the skills, of speed,

Lineart: n-nani?! That's impossible! I am tough as hecc you have to do back grounds and complicated dresses.

Well lineart theres one thing you have forgotted..

Lineart: no.. It can't be..

THE POWER OF PATIENCEEEE

Lineart: NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

..

Ehem yep.

Now ontoo the coloring!!

Its just simple. I used blending layers for the lighting while I use multiply for shading.

But I do have a base color. But the magic lies on blending layers man.

I have detailed a lot of stuff in it, likeee

  • the sparkle
  • the hair
  • and the lighting

"... Maya what the fuck thats a big jump, are you gonna call that details?!" I mean.. Yeah? I dunno how to explain but uh yeah?? Sorry inner doubts. Do you guys like want.. Any advanced tutorials? The reason why I keep helding back that most of the time this is my way of stuff and my way is not always the most correct and most people would listen. But yeah

  • Basically I added more shading at the roof
  • some cakes at the counter
  • detailed my human lil peepu (the cashier) aaa (shes not canon in this story btw, just a cameo)
  • added more sparkling
  • make the eyes more cooler

Now.. I had a problem with the goddamn mother fricking face.. It has always been the eyess ughhhhhh, how daree, I have been stuck in this block road on this art journey, but I have to finish this, I have to end this, but how?!

Finally I redid the face, to make it more realistic, but.. Something about it is not so appealing, I try to look back and forth, between the anime and realistic style of eyes.

Something wasn't right.

But then my friend helped me out.

Aishaaaaaaaaaaaaa

She saved my life, I couldn't have done it without her. I wouldn't know what was wrong with my drawin and improve it in the first place.

Aaaaaanddddd

FINISHED!!!

Hurraayyy, what an adventure, did you like it? Was my process too.. Extreme lel. I dunno, takin a break from all the seriousness is fun ahah.

Btw kinda a preview i did with Unreal Engine 4 ;)) nyehehe

And thats it I guess, did ya like it? Hopefully you did cuz

FAQ:

This took 3 hours and 25 minutes (without breaks) basically the whole day lel
Programs: ibispaint and the soul of my dead father.
Still using my finger and I wishing for a pc ;-;

Copyright all belongs to me @Maya525 duuuhhh??

By the way thanks again for all the kind wishes! :) I appriciate every comment haha, and also got curied by my drawing which is.. Wow o_o

I got a discord server lel cuz im bored and lonely shut up https://discord.gg/522BDP

Please visit my instagram!

https://www.instagram.com/realmaya525/

Sweet nightmares!

Sort:  

I am still amazed that you can do all this in a phone? A tablet? I dunno but definitely it's something crazy and I wouldn't be able to do it lol.          
         
And that help picture is hilarious, I don't think she's that dire but it's good that you fixed her in the finished version.          
         
-upvoted-          

Aaaa thanks scrawly!! Yeah the art is from a phone, unless you're talking about the preview I showed from UE4 thats on a pc, but thats my dads PC owo

And thanks!!! XD I knew the moment when I tried to fix her it looks too good not to screenshot it.

The pic of the "im suffering help" is gonna show up in my dreams tonight I'm sure of it//NO

Man I wish I had your skills and be able to make art this beautiful with my fingers but my fingers are fat and hard to draw with my palm sized iphone screen RIP

Also that preview looks really pretty!

PfFFF I hope I didn't traumatize you ;;o;;

And man don't worry! I think everyone wishes they have lots of skills but they dont have much time. I mean I wish I have your animating skills too! And yeah my fingers are kinda tiny I mean when people compare my hand to others theyre always like "your hands are so tiny?!?" XD

Brilliant work, Maya! This is a gorgeous artwork! Nicely done! 😃

Aaaa trin! Thankyou so much!! <3 you keep commenting on my post and I appreciate your support :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

lines are really nice

Posted using Partiko iOS

Very nice piccar, maya-chan ! I love the colours :> It is nice to take a break from dark stuff hahaha, and this one makes me want cake so bad ! :D

Awwieee!! Thanks spidy! Always get some more fun and stuff!

Unreal Engine for the win!

I too am getting more and more into it. For blocking out layout and other stuff, it's premo. Hope you're having fun. Why are you getting into Unreal?

Aaa thanks, haven't touched UE4 for days since the monitor is not working :(
But I was trying to get into Unreal Engine 4 for the assets and how pretty it is :D plus maybe try to get into.. Game makin :0 maybee

Likewise! Game makin all the way.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02