"After the Flood" an Original Oil Painting by Matthew Holden Bates

in #art5 years ago (edited)

After the Flood.jpg

"After the Flood" oil on canvas - 75cm x 100cm ©️Matthew Holden Bates, All Rights Reserved

Sometimes this happens to me, just when I am about to start a big project, another painting, in this case a painting that I have been working on for years, calls to me and I just have to finish it! This painting is "After the Flood" and it started out as a simple seascape of one of my favorite places, the island of Elba, right off of the Tuscan coast. The subject is a sister painting to another seascape called "Elba" that I posted in my Lanscapes post:

https://steemit.com/art/@matteopaints/landscape-paintings-by-matthew-holden-bates

"After the Flood" took on a life of its own. I was inspired by the idea of time passing by and the way that civilization can peak and then crumble, maybe even really quickly. I think that what we know about the past is very spotty, based entirely on hearsay and artifacts like statues and columns that we find lying around. But how did they get there, and what happened to make them crumble?

Head-Detail.jpg

I am facinated by the flood myth of the Bible, and the fact that every civilization all around the world has a flood myth. I am going to guess that there was a world wide flood event that happened, maybe not too long ago. After all, our history only goes back 6000 years at best. If the world is really old, that's not much human history. I look at the pyramids in Egypt, and I think, no way that at the dawn of history did they make the most impressive monuments ever. I mean, we don't exactly make pyramids like those anymore.

Column-Detail.jpg

So that is how this painting changed direction. I decided that the subject would be a bird's eye view of the aftermath of a massive floodlike event. The more I study the world around me, the less I am sure of anything that I have been taught. If I think about how many times I have changed my mind about what I believe, it makes me chuckle. We are really living in a strange world, full of mystery.

I will be back with my Duomo painting "Making Of" series very soon, so stay tuned. If you like my artwork and would like to see more, feel free to follow my blog on Steemit @matteopaints and visit my website at: http://www.mattbates.net

Happy Valentines Day!!!!

A presto, Matteo

Sort:  

What a spectacular landscape painting, Matteo! Brilliant work! 😄

I'd like to invite you to participate on my Art Curation Initiative #9

Grazie Amico Mio!!!

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Super!!!!!!😎

Nice these are great. Glad i stumbled across em 😎

Congratulations @matteopaints! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @matteopaints, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Awesome, thanks @creativecrypto !!!!!!😀


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Grazie 1000!!!

Really well done and thanks for sharing some of the back story.

Thanks!!!!😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84