Last Night Episode 7 - zombies painting series and story: 6 A.M. - 7 A.M. Final Episode.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

What would a night be like when a zombie-invasion actually happened? What would you do? What would I do?

After playing the game "Last Night on Earth" - a zombie survival boardgame - I made a series of paintings depicting the terror and sense of dread of a zombie invasion: one painting for every hour from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. and how that night would feel like.

The story I'm writing here is exclusively written for Steemit! I'm also integrating (parts of) all comments given on the previous episode. Read about that below. This is how I envisioned the first zombie - and last normal? - night on earth in my paintings. I appreciate any and all (relevant!) comments, upvotes and resteems, thank you!

You can read episode one: prologue - 7 p.m. - 8 p.m. here.
You can read episode two: 9 p.m. - 10 p.m. here.
You can read episode three: 11 p.m. - midnight here.
You can read episode four: 1 a.m. - 2 a.m. here.
You can read episode five: 3 a.m. - 4 a.m. here.
You can read episode six: 5 a.m. here.

Final episode, thank you, everybody who read, enjoyed, upvoted, commented, resteemed, OCD'd, curied and did whatnot, thank you very, very much! I enjoyed writing it, glad to see there was an audience for this kind of content. I will do an epilogue, but for now, enjoy the finale!


Episode seven.

Enjoy. Or be afraid.

Last Night: 6 A.M.

The zombie-horde had passed us while we waited in an abandoned car. Now Steve, Lynn and I dashed between the last few following roamers, so close to the safe-place: Suzie's Bar 'n Grill.

I heard a scream, and quickly looked over my shoulder. Lynn was caught and struggling with some roamers. Steve instantly came to her rescue but was engulfed by grappling arms and hungry-for-blood teeth as well. I struck a few with my axe, trying to get closer to them, but there were just too many zombies so I had to retreat. Up ahead in the distance, I saw the horde slowly come to a halt and turn around.

"Get to the safe-house!", I heard Steve yell, "quickly, while you can!"

"I won't leave you guys, not again!" I yelled back, tired as I was, but still swinging my axe towards the zombies.

I saw the horde getting closer. It was terrifying. Could I leave my best buddies just to save myself?

"Get the fuck to the safe-house! We'll manage!" Steve yelled again. I saw undefined body-parts flying through the air. Spats of blood. I was paralysed.

"I'll try!" I managed to blurt out. "I'll make it to the grill. Maybe the car will start and you can drive it at the horde. Good luck!" And with that I ran off to Suzie's Bar 'n Grill. I think I heard a car engine start and drive off in the distance, but I'm not sure. All I was sure of was seeing my friends Mark, Cisco, his wife Jo and their kids. I was safe.

But for how long?

Roamers had followed me and the horde would probably do so too. Shotgun Steve and Lynn were gone. My friends were very nice and supportive of the decisions I made getting here - they were amazed I made it all the way from my farm to here, and it was now almost morning.

The loss of Steve and Lynn was of course a big blow to all of us. Everybody was silent, while keeping an eye on the windows and fortifications of the restaurant. The roamers were still out there and we were anxiously awaiting the horde.

Last Night 7 A.M.

I managed to eat something and had a splendid drink: Suzie's Bar 'n Grill was famous for her single malt Whiskies. I spoke to Mark, who seemed in charge of defense: "All good, Mark? D' you think we can defend ourselves against a horde?"

"We're good, I guess, though nobody can anticipate thousands of zombies. We've done all we could."

"Thanks, man. If this is our final stand, I'm good." What does one say when one's about to face the apocalypse?

The banging on the walls, windows and doors of the safe-house started all of a sudden, and in unison. The zombie-horde had found us. And they wanted to enter. Eat our brains. Rip our flesh. Desperately.

There wasn't a window looking out on less than a hundred zombies. There wasn't a doorway bulging with the massive force of scores of undead. This was it. Our final stand.

I had survived the night, but we might not survive the morning. I had made a journey from my farmer's fields, ignorant as I may be, towards town, finding and losing my buddy Steve and his wife Lynn, getting all the way to a safe place where I found myself and my best friends trapped. By a horde of cannibalistic ghouls.

All that by listening to the comments in my head. Ah well, I was glad I made it this far. Although it was tense, I did had some fun making this journey.

Windows started breaking. The zombies didn't mind. Doors' hinges started to give way. We had everything in hand to beat the shit out of the zombies.

All was lost.

The walkie-talkie crackled: "Guys, you still there?" It was Steve's voice, "Lynn and I found a military vehicle. We're at the back of Suzie's Bar 'n Grill. Get your asses over here! Now!"

It was 7 a.m. and the end of Last Night. I was zombied out.

The End of Last Night. Maybe the beginning of First Day?


Thanks for reading & watching!

If you read the previous episode(s) and comments: I took a quote from every one of the comments of the previous episode and integrated them in this episode: "very nice" by @aryan12o; "make it to the grill. Maybe the car will start and you can drive it at the horde." by @deemarshall and "zombied out" by @sacka. Thank you all for the input! You made the story what it has become, thank you!

Final episode of "Last Night", I will write an epilogue, recapping everything, because it's been too much fun writing this. I might start a new series "First Day", as a sequel to this, but I will have to paint some new paintings first :)

Thanks, hope you enjoyed, let me know something in the comments!

Sort:  

Great ending! Thank you for The Last Night. I'm happy to see you enjoyed writing it as that means there will probably be another adventure. Looling forward to the epilogue :)

Thanks, epilogue coming this evening and yes, I'm on the lookout for a setting for a next adventure :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65355.38
ETH 2656.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87