Stymphanian Birds - an inspirational myth

in #art7 years ago

Dear visiting steemian, thanks for stopping by!

After writing my blog about another mythical species, the Peryton, I found out that animal is connected with the species the Stymphanian Bird. I explained they are vicious animals with a series of terrible characteristics: They possess metallic, sharp feathers and bronze beaks to kill swiftly, and they let go of poisonous excrements, so everybody who gets mistaken with their droppings will get killed also...

Apparently their name derives from a certain swamp, named Stymphania, where they dwelled. And when I read more about these awesome beasties, I learned I heard about them before! Yes! Hercules had some business to do on earth as a hero (half-god/half-human), and one of the twelve tasks was thisone, to get rid of these murderous birds who plagued Arcadia. Hercules chased the birds from their nests with rattles, and shoot them down with poisonous arrows (with blood of the previously slain Hydra).
In all his adventures were more animals with metallic skin, like the two bulls his fellow Argonaut Jason needed to master. Oh, how I love mythology...

The birds were originally pets of goddess Artemis. She was goddess of the hunt. Chased by a pack of wolves they migrated.

A stymphanian bird, made up with all the read mythology, without referentions
stymph bird.jpg

Thanks for visiting, I hope you like it and come by another time!

Feel free to check my Social Media accounts for more art:

Etsy-shop: https://www.etsy.com/nl/shop/MariekedeStip
Facebookpage: https://www.facebook.com/MariekedeStip/
Website: http://MariekedeStip.nl/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/MariekedeStip.nl/

And if you want to read my other blogs about cows, birds, birds, two birdies, more birds, cats, nudeart or hands, click on it!

Sort:  

Love it, this bird has some attitude. Nice job capturing the metallic feel on the beak. I have resteemed this - I post coloring book pages and I think this drawing makes a great coloring book page as well!

Following you - hope to see more of your art :)

Thanks @coloringbook, also for your resteem. You made the other drawings at your page

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @carlgnash. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mariekedestip to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85