You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 1957 Chevrolet Bel Air ~ Art by Red Dust ~ Progress Report

in #art7 years ago

Are you using Gouache, Water colors or both? It looks really fantastic. Cars are something I hate drawing myself. Not because I hate cars but because I always seem to mess them up!

Sort:  

No gouache so far...I forgot to add that piece of data.

I'm a personal fan of gouache over watercolors. But I often do an under painting in a burnt umber and other basic colors with water color then move in with the Gouache. I like the semi opacity of them. I want to experiment casein paints after playing with gouache for a while.

I like gouache and watercolor, I usually use gouache for highlights and evening out lines. I'm trying to stay with just watercolor on this piece but I can't make any promises about using gouache for touch ups lololol. I've only read about casein paints, I read their translucent abilities are amazing.

I'll be honest, I like gouache because straight watercolor is tough and hit or miss for me. So bravo for having those skills with it. It's a tough medium to master.

I started in oils back in the 80s and my kids were toddlers back then. They got into my oil paints and painted up their bedroom and carpet. That's when I went to watercolor, I love it now. Practice makes perfect @loganarchy😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65651.70
ETH 2676.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91