“Falling Star & Prayer Plant” Collaborative Art with @everlovesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago

Star dust falls & prayer plants grow
FallingStarPrayerPlantab99d.jpg

Inspired by collaboration with @everlove and my prayer plant project. This is an abstract look at the beginning of new things (or the end of something that shattered). The stardust falls down to the crystals and from the crystals the prayer plants grow. Each individual spec of dust is an unique expression of the cosmos. The old, future and present combine like the very large, medium and very small.

The colors in the graphic in the center came from my two prayer plants. There are five points for five fingers on each hand. Putting them both together makes the gold spiral pattern in the center.

Hopefully non-denominational in that when intent or love spirals out into the world if it is both in alignment with the highest and greatest good and that of its origin, it manifests like two hands being put together.

Process

Thanks for the “Shattered Rainbows” invitation to collaborate @everlove!

A lot of this project came from my prior project; there are some notes about how that was created in my prayer plant project post.

Starting with the photograph from @everlove I added a gradient in the background and rendered some patterns onto it and drew some dots using GIMP. I wanted it to look kind of like the constellation Orion to emphasize the five stars around the outside and three within the belt. (It is not exactly like Orion because this could also be a very miniature scene – perhaps this is someplace inside a molecule, lol)

The picture was looking futuristic and I liked that.

Here are a few other pictures I came up with using dapainter software. Here’s the Cezanne effect. I liked this version too it looks to me like it is set in an older time.

FallingStarPrayerPlant_DAP_Cezanne46510.md.jpg

Here’s a Pastel effect. I think it looks a bit more like a landscape.

FallingStarPrayerPlant_DAP_Pastels35b63.md.jpg

Here’s a Watercolor effect. I thought it was interesting too with a pretty colors. More of a daylight look though (or looking out from the surface of a quark subatomic particle?).

FallingStarPrayerPlant_DAP_Watercolor126be.md.jpg


Thanks for reading! As always your support is greatly appreciated!

Sort:  

Thank you for coming out to play @lightsplasher!! I love to not only see the transformation of the original piece, but also some of the versions that were inspired along the way. Gratefully I don't have to pick a favorite--they all have their own interesting slant on the piece. So grateful for your sweet addition to the portfolio.

Thank you! I'm really glad to have the opportunity to play with these things. It is very fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59101.88
ETH 2521.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47