When They Leave Home

in #art6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9805-Steemit.jpg

I usually don't get that attached to my paintings. I just sold my Rembrandt portrait. I must admit a certain amount of reluctance because, I enjoy having the old chap around the studio. He's been like envisioned mentor hovering in my studio, keeping a watchful eye upon me. If ever I feel doubtful, frustrated or unmotivated, all I had to do was look up, and there he was, his sad tired old eyes, still alight with some spark, looking back at me, saying, you can keep going, I went through more than that.

Rembrand on the easel

Funny thing is, in the past few days I've been looking at self-portraits of other great painters to paint. I guess it is time to "study" under a new master. I have shortlisted Diego Velázquez or Anthony Van Dyck. Whoever I choose, I'll have to get started straight away.

Watch this space to find out who it is next.

 

Leave a comment below, upvote and resteem if you like it.

More of my artwork can be found on my website. LeoPlaw.com

And if it takes your fancy, subscribe to my newsletter.


Sort:  

I love when the lives of past artists speak to us. We are a brotherhood (sisterhood too) and are bound, timeless and limitless, by the great ever alive outside of time creature called : Creation.

I'm excited to see who you take on next.

I've already started... but I'm not say who just yet. ;-)
I'm going to be making this a series and have selected a few more faces.

Nicely done my friend. Yes we do get attached to our creations. As I write poetry and sometimes music I get it. But our creations are expressions of love that better reach their full potential of value when shared. Thanks for sharing.

Absolutely! My works are created to find a life elsewhere. Sometimes I just like to have them around a little longer before they go.

Very nice Rembrandt portrait, @leoplaw <3 It's ... very lovely, to read that you have had this as your spiritual mentor and morale support <3 No wonder you're a little reluctant to part with it. Wonderfully painted, also, the skin tone feel alive and organic and his eyes do feel like they exude warmth, faith and kindness in them.

I am definitely always looking forward to your next piece, and now I wonder which will it be, Diego or Anthony :>

Lovely post <3

Thank you @veryspider! I have a super high resolution image of the original which allowed me to peer at every little brush stroke Rembrandt made; much closer than you'd ever be allowed to look in a museum. So while I did not work in Rembrandt's chunky style of painting, I was certainly following his hand when it came to the placement of colours.

I've started the next portrait. You'll find out soon who it is. ;-)

Google art project - one of my faves is this one, Man with the Gold Helmet
I am also browsing the Riksmuseum where I started a collection.

Yes, I've already downloaded a few images from the Google Art Project, and also the Prada Museum.

Thanks for the tip on the Reijksmuseum Otto!

I also recently discovered that some of the auction houses have decent sized images.

Auction houses - yes, I noticed that too!
About the Rijksmuseum: you can open an account there and start your own collection. The images are very high resolution for the most part. They even encourage you to use them for your own creations, like print them for a mural, or cover a car with it .....
I forgot my password on my initial account and unwittingly opened a second and a third.
Collection of Otto Rapp - I didn't do much with it so far, just a few random test pieces.
I am logged in, but can you get to this page where it says Make your own creation - just an example.
I actually got 3 accounts under all 3 of my FB profiles, lol.
Here are instructions about what all you can do there.

I already registered last night and started downloading! =)

I won't be making prints or whatever from them, but I certainly will be studying them closely. I might need a bigger hard drive.

I never use my FB, Google or Twitter accounts for logins with other sites.

Yes, it is a sad departure! Probably in this master piece portrait are also some feature from yourself. Let it go! All the best mastro!

The antidote is to paint another of portrait of Rembrandt. He painted himself so often that there are many others to choose from without having to paint the same one again.
Cheers @johano!

Good luck than! I can't wait to see the result :-)

You shouldn't have to wait too lone. =)

one of my favorites - you caught it just right!
Very early in my time I copied with great diligence the eye from one of his portraits (can't remember which) but I used it in a surreal painting.
You would make a good forger, lol - maybe walk inBeltracci's shoes - he is rich!

Cheers Otto! Well it helped that I have the super high resolution image to work from.

Artists - rouges and criminals - even if they aren't forgers. ;-)

Queen Victoria was report to have said, "Beware of artists. They mix with all classes of society and are therefore most dangerous."

Have you ever been to the Forgers Museum in Vienna?

Forgers Museum? I did not know, how could I miss this? Have to go check it out, thanks for the tip.
Yeah, Queen Victoria might be right - she may not have liked this work by Dennis Corrigan, do you know it:

Those flies must be artists!

No, I didn't know the work. Excellent piece.

What? I'm surprised that I could actually tell a local something about Vienna. =)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

very biutiful draw

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64852.72
ETH 3178.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.20