Designing My Book Cover ON GIMP (Detailed Guide)

in #art8 years ago


This was for my new book, Chalkboard Madness, With Mandalas.
it's a new series I may launch in the future with black designs, WIth white ink.
Note: the left side is the BACK COVER, the right side is the front.

Sometimes I pay free lancers to do my covers, But sometimes I do them myself.

Started with a chalkboard green background, I couldn't decide if I wanted to use it, But I went with it

The background of the pages are black, So I had mixed feelings if I wanted to use green or a black background. I've seen chalkboards in both colors.

Opened a Mandala From the book, So people will have an idea of what they can color

Adding font

This is a weird process for me, I usually edit it based on how it looks, I don't always have an exact idea of what I want the cover to look like

I added more from the book

I want people to have a great idea of what they'll be coloring so I try to use a lot of different pages on my cover

Used Chalkboard colors to color the Mandalas

Changed my mind, I want the background black

Adding the official title

Outlined & Finished product

Also added the extra Mandala for the back.
Outlined that too with black to make it stick out more

Sort:  

Lols!!!! Not this GIMP then?!?!

ahahaha NO!!! LOL

Awesome work.
Also upvoting because I just really like GIMP. Have you checked out the FX foundry plugin? Or any others, there's some great ones out there.

I haven't! I'll have to look into it. I Love gimp too :)

YEs! I tried it and I LOVE IT! Thank you for your recommendation.

Looks GREAT!!! Wish you success :)

Thank you so much :)

Oh nice. I use gimp to design my poetry books covers too.

Yay I"m glad :) so many people I talk to like photo shop better so I"m glad there are people who like gimp too.

Good stuff. Looks fairly easy to use. GIMP, got it. Thanks!

Woo hoo! GImp is the best and I love that it's free :)

You had me at "free" ;-)

Hahahha!! Exactly XD Most programs like that are mega expensive.

nice design :)

Thank you so much!

Upvoted and commenting to check it out later. My wife is a writer and she could seriously use this tutorial. Thanks,

Thank you !! I'm glad I can help.

Another great post from Kaylinart.....why am I not suprised!!!!

Aww so sweet thank you!

Thank you everyone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48