Have you seen a Shadow in your dreams?

in #art7 years ago

Several years ago I dreamt of a shadow lurking in dark woods nearby.

I was outdoors, in the dark, and not alone. Sitting in a clearing and trying to immerse myself in the only light available from the screen of a laptop, my heart racing as it approached.

A shadow in the shadows, I couldn’t see it until it was within arms reach, rushing at my with a wicked hostility.

20170722-IMG_2496.jpg


It seized me and my body went into a spasm in my bed. All of my muscles tightened, and when I opened my eyes, the walls were dancing in geometric patterns.

I wonder if it was a flood of DMT as my brain believed it was going to die?

Since then it has appeared one more time, but I woke up in fear before it could reach me.


Submission for Art Explosion: Phantoms

Drawn with charcoal.


-Kabba

Sort:  

Hello again, quick msg:

The 4th contest, MAP4, has now started. Please go to: Minnows Accelerator Project - Six of the Best MAP4. More instructions on promoting your blog in the post.

Good luck!

Thank you for the heads up! It's such an interesting form, and even if it draws in a few more viewers, it's brilliant!

The shadow looks very mysterious, and the story is very intriguing.

Thanks for the comment. The art is always first, but bringing words to it is the most challenging, and ultimately most rewarding aspect of creating. Steemit (you) are what's making it finally happen, hehe :)

LOVE the drawing so much. What sort of paper did you use? Has a watercolor quality.

Thank you :)

I used a heavyweight drawing paper with a prominent tooth. This drawing was completely spontaneous. I was sitting down to start a new geometric drawing, ruler and pencil in hand. I waited and I waited, but I couldn't draw a single line. I felt, somehow, clogged. My mind was clouded and my hand refused to move, so I picked up a solid graphite stick (I think I finished with charcoal, but now that I think about it I started with graphite). I moved the stick around the page randomly, and the form emerged. I immediately started thinking about a dream I had years ago, about the shadow figure. After a few minutes I felt relief and was able to continue with geometry.

Whilst I'm really attracted to your actual drawings, I'm even more inspired and feel in-tune with your processes. I know the feelings of being frozen when it's not the right time yet to begin. As well as having an intent and something else guides you into doing something else. One has to be so trusting. But it does become so much easier the more you work like this.

Love your description here of how by drawing this figure, the dream energy was recalled and dissipated and how something in you then was resolved.

Beautiful art. I have always admired/envied people who can draw/paint. My brother was talented that way, but for me drawing was never a natural skill. @kabbam

Yes, I am a robot, too.

Lol, love the story and the drawing! Thank you so much!

Happy to contribute!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48