Jdraw - Mary on Phobos

in #art6 years ago

Sometimes Mary Succuba goes to Phobos to hunt lizards...
don't ask me why 😆

800_Mary-Phobos_jtrx99.jpg

Mary in astrosuit!!


Zeta-analysis

I like to draw Mary Succubay with her large body and round forms. This is the first time I put her in space. She's a kind of extra character, not directly link to the Suncity Tales, even if she's married to H-Man (Efl Feast). But she's very aware, if one of my character would be able to break the fourth wall, it would be her.

For the linework, I used my trusty Tachikawa fountain pen 🍙

700_Mary-Phobos_jtrx99_Linework.jpg

The linework

To color I used the lumi/shade technique on Paint Tool Sai (linear light on photoshop). It's longer (for me) than the cell shading technique but the results are better due to more tonal variations (if lighting is done correctly).

First step is to work the values in grayscale:

700_Mary-Phobos_jtrx99_grayscale.jpg

Grayscale Mary!

Second step is to applied color on top, turn the color layers mode on "lumi/shade" (or linear light) and adjust the results with hue/saturation entries.

700_Mary-Phobos_jtrx99_color1.jpg

this is what my colored layers looks like in "normal" mode

700_Mary-Phobos_jtrx99_color2.jpg

final results!


Chl_110.gif


If you want know more about my steem-webcomic:
Introducing Suncity's Tales
and the Suncity's Index connecting all my Suncity related posts (so far)

Sort:  

I love the blend of space metal and pure laughter. It’s unique compared to anything I’ve seen, my friend ! : )

^^ I like experimenting techniques and stuff when coloring, sometime I get lucky!

Nice work as always man. I’m really digging the gif, great detail in the character too.
Upvoted 🙂

Hi Chris! thx!
Yes, the gif give some life to the post, actually @crittercrats gave me this idea :)
You should check him, he do some crazy strips!

I just discovered your blog. I liked your drawings.

Welcome then ! Je suis content que ça te plaise 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16