"Enjoying Little Things" (My entry to @cookiespooky Daily Drawing Challenge #9) (Digital Illustration plus Process)

in #art6 years ago

Hi guys I just want to share this work of mine, it's my entry to @cookiespooky Daily Drawing Challenge #9 contest. I want to thank him by hosting this beautiful contest, but before anything else let me share to you the reason and how I came up with this artwork.

So yesterday I've decided to join a art related contest, since I have a little bit of free time to spend. So I logged in to my steemit account and look for possible art related contest that I can join. Just to share, when I choose what kind of art contest I am going to join, I look first at the theme, if the theme is in the field of my interest. This is really important for me, because if I have an interest of that theme, there's a lot of ideas that I can conceptualize and put to work. In that way, I won't be wasting my time thinking what I'm going to do? what is my subject? how can I achive what I want? something like that.

I don't just look about the prize, on how much I can get (which can't be 100% guaranteed if win or not). What I look is the message I can share and impart to everyone, through my art. Because I believe that this site, Steemit, is just not created for us to post anything we want. But also for us to share some knowledge, ideas, experiences, a content that can bring impact to someone's life, by any means we can, through writing, art, etc.

And finally I found this very interesting contest hosted by @coockiespooky. What made me join and inspired me, is the by theme, "Enjoying the little things". I really found this very interesting because, me as a person is very simple, I live a simple life. Little things surprises me more somehow.

My Inspiration



So I think and conceptualize something that is meaningful, and I think of something that will best represent my own interpretation and perspective with them "Enjoying simple things". And as I try to go deeper, reflecting and talking to myself, my thoughts brought me back to day when I was a kid. Where everything I see is big, I mean, little or simple things never fails to amaze me. Like when my Dad first show me his magic coin trick (which I already decipher right now, haha) I still remember how I was amazed and astounded. And when the time my mom bought me a glow in the dark sticker and placed it ceiling, every night before I go to sleep. I always slept with such awe and wonder, simple things just like that.

And the most unforgettable little thing that I really most enjoy most back in the day, even that may seems so simple, is the day I've learned to make a paper plane. I still remember the moment I learn to create paper plane, where I almost spent a one (1) pad of paper making paper planes. It's part of my childhood memory that I will never forget, doing that very simple things brought so much fun and enjoyment. So here it is, I hope you all like it.

"Enjoying Little Things"



Simple-Things-f.jpg

About my Concept

I want my artwork to be fun, unique and simple. First, I thought of a kid holding a paper plane (preparing it to take flight), but I think of something I can add and make my work unique and will bring strong message. Then I came with an idea, why not make the kid ride with the paper plane, and for me I think its very fun and effective. I want to show in my illustration how the kid enjoy the moment riding his plane, the happiness in his face. I want to express his emotion on how free and how he is enjoying the moment he had, the "little things" he had, just like the moment I've enjoyed myself making and playing with my paper planes.

Conclusion



Sometimes we focus too much on things that we really want to achieve, work for it every night and day. And there's noting wrong about that. But sometimes we tend to forget the things that made us who we are, we get overshadowed by our own interests and ambition. We sometimes need to pause for a while, relax, and to think of the simple little things that are always there, waiting for us to realize and see them. The simple little smiles of our loved ones, our family, friends, the old guitar on the corner waiting for you to pluck the strings, your dog wiggling his tail left and right waiting for you to scratch its back and tummy, simple things like that. Extraordinary or simple, big or little, let's be always thankful, appreciate the things that may come on our way, having a heart full acceptance and gratitude.

That's all folks, thanks for hearing my thoughts and sentiments haha. Make your day nice! Enjoy life! Peace!

Btw, here's the process I'm going to show you

Process

Medium
Software Used: Illustrator CC
Equipment: Mouse

First is, after I'm done conceptualizing and brainstorming, I immediately put all of my thoughts to sketch and made a illustration, after that, I took a picture of it, transfer the file to my laptop, lastly I've imported it to adobe Illustrator. I do this a lot because I'm fond of making my artwork to digital version.

1.png

Then I start tracing my sketch, using Pen tool

2.png

Trace Trace Trace

3.png

After I'm done tracing the outlines, what I do next is to add colors

4.png

I first, start with the skin tone, it's the first thing I do, you're free to start where ever you want when adding colors

6.png

7.png

After I'm done with the skin tone, I start adding colors to the kid's shirt. The reason I chose color yellow, its because in our color theory class, one of the meaning that color yellow holds is happiness. Since my subject looks so happy

8.png

Next, his pants

9.png

after that, one of my favorite part illustrating, his old school head gear. This is to give more story and appeal to the subject, for me, it signifies the kids imagination working and somehow represents his dream, which I actually also my dream once, to become a pilot.

10.png

11.png

So this what my work looks like, if it's being zoomed out

12.png

After illustrating the head gear, I start to add shadow to give depth in my drawing

13.png

20.png

As long as possible I've tried to make my work very simple and sincere

14.png

Everything looks good

15.png

The next thing I did, is to add a background which is blue sky (just a rectangle filled with color)

16.png

To make everything complete, I've added the blue sky a clouds to make it really like flying

17.png

18.png

19.png

And after a few hours of work, it's done

Simple-Things-f.jpg

copyright @jeuuzz
all rights reserved

Thanks again guys! Take Care!

And you can also check this awesome bloggers ✍

@mikaelasinsuat4
@dandalion
@qyugmo
@ishanvirtue
@ediah
@jgonzalez2134
@looserwin
@kennik

Please do support

@slothicorn
@sndbox
@surpassinggoogle
@steemgigs
@steemph
@stateofthearts
@steemitachievers
@steemitfamilyph
@artzone

DQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

this is a very nice illustration!! you are good at this!!:DD

Thank you @fabiyamada very much appreciated.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13