"Humming birds" original art. The Story Of Talent, Courage, Dark Places and Joy

in #art7 years ago

Humming bird happens to be one of my favorite animals. Smallest of all birds, it is the only creature able to stop dead in its tracks whilst moving at full speed. It is also unique in that it is able to fly backward and sideways, and can also hover, go forward, up or down.


"Rosebush humming birds", oil on 55inch canvas.

I've always enjoyed painting humming birds. As a matter of fact my first large-size canvas was a humming bird. My buddy from college bought it. Luckily enough, I can't find a photo of it. I'm not ready to share my beginner's paintings with you. On the other hand, maybe I should, because it would be a great demonstration of Pareto's principle on my journey of an artist: 20% talent, 80% persistence and hard work.
Honestly, I'm so tired of hearing how much talent I have. I've heard it countless times. And I always think the same: if you saw my first paintings 12 years ago you'd laugh. You'd not believe that same hand of the same man painted this. Tens of thousands of hours of practice do pay back, trust me.

This quote of Erica Jong sums it up nicely: “Everyone has talent. What's rare is the courage to follow it to the dark places where it leads.”

The dark places is all that you have to go through and face if you decide to make a diamond out of the raw shapeless chunk of your talent. And it's not only courage. A massive dose of determination and stamina too. But also something that seems opposite of hard work: relaxation. You need to relax in the midst of your effort. Like this your hand will be guided by your heart rather than by your mind.

Genius for me, is mastery of one's talent, which comes from stepping fully into your gift, especially in the unknown and uncomfortable, sometimes even dark places. Courage is necessary because the whole world seems to be set up against the true genius which I believe every human carries inside.


New owners. Master coach Satyen Raja on the right.

It is so for one simple reason: a true genius defies the system, the norm, the status quo. As such it is admired, but only from safe distance. True genius does not care about rules, it only cares about authenticity of its unique expression. True genius is somewhat accepted in art, but rarely in other fields such as science. True genius would tear science to shreds, because it would prove the nonsense of its logic. Read about Tesla, and you'll see why he died poor, whilst widely recognized Einstein had to admit to Planck that he was wrong in his initial disapproval to quantum physics. (Einstein also declared Tesla the "greatest scientist" btw.)

It would also prove the immense power we humans posses if we become spiritually realized and that's the last thing our rulers want, because it would mean the end of hierarchy, period. Guess why all the governments, even the ones who seemingly root for opposite cause, have the same agenda worldwide: fear. To keep your power safely locked in, unmanifested. Humans can only be manipulated if they live in fear.


My friend Sherri acquired this original.

But back to humming birds. According to shamanic wisdom, hummingbirds gifts include the ability to heal by using light as a laser from mouth, endurance over long journeys, ability to fly into small places to heal, joy, happiness, love, timelessness,
The hummingbird brings special messages for us. It is a teacher of joy, and their lessons are many.

And that's why I love humming birds so much. They are teachers of joy, and that is possibly my greatest aspiration in life. That is the message of my art.

Be Well on your journey to Joy,
Thank you for reading and for following me,

Much Love,

Jan
@jankasparec

Sort:  

Hello @jankasparec,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you very much ! that is my third one in just one week, I guess I should start claiming them :D Much Love!

Of all people, I am certain that this following little hummingbird legend originally from South America will greatly delight your heart. Done in a Haida Manga style, this cartoon illustrates some more facets of hummingbird medicine...

About 7 years ago, I caught two hummingbird making love: After a solid two weeks of flirting and dancing around each other, they ended up zooming by me as I was standing observing them, forearms and elbows over the mid-height wall that connects to the entrance of my place.

All of a sudden, about six feet away form me stalled the female, hovering about 2 inches from the ground while the male took an hyperbolic turn up to stall about 25 feet off the ground, carefully positioning himself directly above her. He hovered there for a solid 5 seconds or so, my breath motionless.

She was still hovering seemingly motionless too and, wouldn't it have been for the distance form the ground and the sound of her wings, one could have believed that she was either dead or a fake bird. In the space of a wink, he had dropped right into her, without even making her move a iota.

During the miraculous few seconds they spend embracing each other, they formed a perfect 90 degree angle. My jaw hanging, my eyes would have looked about to fall off my face had anyone seen me. Knowing how extremely territorial they are, I felt both privileged and extremely blessed by the event and sharing.

A few weeks later, I noticed what originally seemed like an extra shout coming from the top of the sitka spruce where the male usually perches himself for surveillance. Looking more attentively, I quickly realized the result of their success, a newborn baby hummingbird, still discovering the unexpected pleasures of flying and the difficulties encountered by the presence, now out of the nest, of what we two-legged call wind. What prowess it was to see it weave its way through the air and learning the way of its parents.

Thanks again for sharing. I thought I'd repay some of the goodness you bring to our world with a bit of a story I held in when you posted about hummingbirds last time. ;)

Much blessings, keep your smile, thrive on and namaste! :)

Brother @eric-boucher. That story did touch my heart, first thing I read when I opened my eyes in the morning, and what a great choice! Many thanks a much Love to you! Nature can teach us all the Wisdom of Universe, if we only learned to fully listen! Namaste ;)

More beautiful work Jan!

Thanks Randy! Are you doing Anarchapulco this year?

h1sprywtg
Hello @jankasparec

You have been upvoted and resteemed by @art-trail as one of the top artistic picks of the day. Your post will be submitted to be considered by the SteemTrail community for their upvote and to earn Trail Coin.

For more information about joining the Art-Trail and SteemTrail community, join us on discord.

care to verify you are who you say you are?

Thanks @seablue. Much appreciated <3

You mean if I am the real Jan Kasparec? Somehow that made me laugh as it reminded me of Eminem- will the real Slim Shady please stand up?! :) Anyways shoot, I'll see if I comply to your wish or not. I done it once, on my very very first post, and since then I met in person the guy who asked for it, and he became my good friend- Mr. @lichtblick . Peace

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Feb 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.06 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Feb 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Spectacular paintings. :-)

Thank you @seablue. And also for resteeming. Much appreciated!

I notice the Steemit twitter account tweeted it too.

So, so beautiful!
I hope that I can afford to buy some of your art one day.
If Steem price goes to the moon I will!

That would be nice wouldn't it? Win win situation @canadain-coconut :) Thank you!

Your hummingbirds are beautiful! I love watching them at my feeder and listening to their happy chirping sounds. Please do share your beginning art! I'm a complete amateur but that doesn't stop me from posting here because I like the feedback and I'm definitely trying to learn. All best.

Thanks for your comment and kindness dear @merej99. Maybe one day I will. At this point I can only encourage you to keep on doing one thing: paint for JOY and nothing more than joy. It will make you the greatest artist of all.

OMG this is awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94