"Golden Elephant", story of Union and Eternal Soulmates. Step By Step Process.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I told you there's more elephants on the way. That much I knew. But I had no idea that the next one will end up containing so much significant messages. Or that I'll cast it in 24 karat gold.

Elephant logo.jpg
"Union", oil and gold on 36x44 inches (91x112cm) canvas.

Each painting comes in its own unique way. Some just stumble through the door of my inspiration like a divine drunk, loud and clear from the start. Others sneak in secretly, pretending to play a role of minor actors but end up with a glorious finishing line, that I sometimes don't notice until it's done and signed.

1.JPG
The beginning never looks anything fancy.

This particular elephant was a great example of the latter scenario. I was going through a period of sadness, so I was painting elephants. Nothing special. Except that right from the start, this one came across with different flavor. I started to paint in black and white, which I never do. I had a feeling that I'll use the monotonous palette to accentuate a splash of color in the end. That color was to be nothing less than pure gold, which I realized only on the very last day. Thanks God I had 24 karat gold leaves kicking around the studio from last time, when I was “baptizing” the Buddha head on “Liberty” painting (which is something you might like to read about in case you missed it: https://steemit.com/art/@jankasparec/liberty-the-most-outspoken-painting-i-ve-ever-done-theater-of-good-and-evil ).

2.JPG
Step 2. It's gonna be an elephant. That much is clear :)

Imitation gold leaves are easy to apply. They are not that fragile and you can actually touch them without breaking them. They are cheap too. Real gold leaves, on the other hand, are as thin as air and the gentlest touch crumbles them. A simple breath makes them fly around. I apply them with soft brush on a thin layer of special glue, that I put on the chosen spots of the painting 15 minutes beforehand. It's a very delicate and unpredictable process. Bit of a lottery to be honest, but I like that. Art should not be calculated, but spontaneous. Imitation gold leaves oxidize so you gotta treat then with all sorts of chemicals while the real thing does not change color at all. I prefer the real thing despite the price and other challenges.

3.JPG
Step 3. Scale and basic clouds configuration is set.

Once I cast the gold and put it under the spotlight, it was shining with fierce splendour. It reminded me of fire of purification that everyone has to go through before any lasting awakening process.
Such things are literally impossible to capture on camera (the glow of gold). I assure you that the glow you see on these photos are nothing compared to the real thing, when illuminated correctly. The painting comes alive, it shines with golden fire.

4.JPG
Step 4. Just before the eternal lovers landed on the roof:)

The Elephant drinking from the river represents the drawing of Prana (universal energy field) and it's transformation to Unconditional Love as it reaches higher chakras, through the union of divine Masculine and Feminine, represented by the boy and girl sitting on Elephant's head, face to face, holding hands (actually the boy passes a “present” to the girl's hand). Those two principles are also present in the setting Sun on the bottom left and rising Moon behind the top right ear. The palette itself is the play of darkness and light, yin and yang.

elephant 3.jpg
This angle gives you better idea of the glow that gold can shine. But even that is weak reflection of seeing the original.

Best realization came from outside source, from someone I love dearly, who is very familiar with my art. Upon seeing the painting, she told me: “So they finally found each other!” I wasn't connecting. “Who are you talking about?”, I asked. “The boy from the waterfall and the girl from the Sunset tree! They finally found each other!”. It strike me like a lightning. Yes, this is the boy from the waterfall and girl from below the tree, who I once noticed that they look like they are looking for each other.

magic waterfall center.jpg
Boy from the Magic Waterfall.

Tree 1 logo.jpg
Girl from the Sunset Tree.

So I called this painting “Union”. It's not only the union of beloveds, of soulmates. It is also the symbol of Holy Trinity. And Chi, Prana, Universal Field of Divine consciousness, call it what you will- that permeates everything in existence, and upon which we need to draw when we stray from our path, to reconnect with the calling of our souls.

That sweet melody that we heard with clarity when we were children, but that we lost in the noise of our busy lives, chasing happiness where it can't be found.

This painting sold to Bulgaria few hours upon I posted it online. Person who bought it is a very evolved soul, intending to use it to bring the feeling of Unity to everyone who will come see it.

How much more could I wish for? I'm humbled by what flowed through me, a simple servant of a higher cause way beyond my small self.

May you come to Union with your inner wholeness. Today and every day.

Golden salutations your way,

Much Love,
Jan

Follow @jankasparec

Rolling up the "Winter silence" this morning. It sold to Ontario this few days ago and was too large to send on frame. I had no idea that the elephant who's watching my back will follow similar journey, but across the ocean to Old Europe, few hours later. Life's great!

hanes wolf sold.jpg

Sort:  

The painting with the elephant is extremely amazing and beautiful. I'm so in love with it honestly, especially when I saw two kids on the elephant. <3 Thank you for this incredible gift 🎁

You are the one who saw it @gladysmak! <3 :-*

That sure is pretty!

Thanks buddy Randy! Big hugs to Panama! @hilarski

Beautiful, thanks for sharing the creative process! <3

Thank you for reading!

Beautiful, I love seeing the progression.

That elephant is amazing. Great art.

thanks a lot @cryplectibles ! Very appreciated!

wow!! very nice!! Congratulations.

You know I might die if I do not get to see this up close and personal before it gets shipped to Bulgaria right? Beautiful story and sentiments behind it. Thank you for sharing. Your portrayal of these universal truths touched my heart deeply. As your art always does. 😉 Congratulations on the quick sale!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13