Here’s my latest alla prima painting. A painting on seeing itself! ;D

in #art7 years ago

Here’s my latest alla prima painting. A painting on seeing itself! ;D



Binoculars Still Life
8" x 10"
Oil on birch


Greetings fellow Steemians!

In this post I thought I’d share and discuss my latest alla prima painting fresh off the easel of my pair of binoculars.

This painting I thought was especially fun in not only in its simplicity but because of the challenge of capturing the subtle value shifts in the luminous white background.


While working on this painting I found an opportunity in dedicating myself to the challenge of painting thicker, particularly in the lights. I really wanted to make sure those lights were as solid as possible.

The palette I used for this painting was titanium white, quinacradone rose, cadmium red, burnt umber, ultramarine blue, and ivory black.

Please feel free to let me know what you think?

Thanks for reading Everyone!

-James Hansen
https://jameszenartist.weebly.com/

Sort:  

Really nice @jameszenartist. Very sculptural and I like the idea of limiting the colours :) Resteemed and upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59119.47
ETH 2526.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47