Decentraland DCL/Mana, Aetherian City Concept Art - Night Club

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Aetherian Nightclub

Final light-shadow.jpg

Deep within the Aetherin City Pyramid, the party keeps going 24/7.


Hello Steemers! I'm back after a bit of a break. I've been working on another very interesting project for Decentraland, Aetherian City District. Now for those of you who don't know, Decentraland is a Virtual Reality world that is being built on Blockchain technology. Mana is the cryptocurrency that will be traded there is is also used to stake land in the world. I currently have land in four districts including Aetherian City.

Aetherian City will be the futureistic Cyberpunk district in DCL. I think it's going to be amazing as it will have a Blade Runner/Snow Crash visual style.

Go take a look at the Aetheria website - HERE

The first thing you see is that huge pyramid. I really like it! It looks to me like a Star Wars version of the Luxor pyramid hotel in Las Vegas. The nightclub concept art above is meant to be inside the great pyramid. It's gonna be a huge club :D

You call also find them on Twitter.

Right, let's check out the design process!


To start off with, I drew a pen sketch of the club dance floor and bar. The idea is to have many levels going up the top of the pyramid. This is a drawing of just one small area on one of the many levels. The main level will be absolutely massive and jam packed full of activities.

  • Sketch

Club1.jpg

Unfortunately, my windows crashed after an update and I lost my Manga Studio art program. For now, I'm using a good free drawing program called FireAlpaca. It's a great free alternative to Manga Studio/Clip Studio Pro.

First thing I did on Aplaca was the bar line art. I did this with the line tool using my Wacom tablet. As with most art programs, you can create straight lines very quickly.

  • Line Art

just bar line.jpg

Next, I used the pen tool try draw the party goers. You don't have quite the selection of brushes that you do on Manga Studio but it sure does the job.

line people.jpg

Here we have all line art complete and the original pen sketch made invisible. Nice and clean :)

Line complete.jpg

For the colouring, I decided to use the comic style option. Besides using brushes to colour the art. You can use the bucket tool to fill in objects. This gives it a very Marvel/Manga look. You can also drop a gradients on objects by dragging the gradient tool across objects.

  • Digital Colour

gradient 2.jpg

I noticed that after I filled in colour, some of the line art got covered over and was no longer visible. I created a second line art layer and put it on top of the colour layer set to multiply. This creates a line art layer with transparent background.

Top line added.jpg

Here is the picture fully coloured. Definitely got a retro modern vibe going on here! Cyber club 2084 :D

Final No light.jpg

I added some lighting and shadow. This was really fun as it brought the picture to life. First, I created a new layer set to screen. Screen makes all colours super bight and saturated. I set the transparency to 62% for the light. Much of the club lasers where painted with the airbrush tool. I added a few gimmicky brushed like star and bubble on the dance floor.

Lastly, I added a bit of shadow by simply painting black with the airbrush tool. I'm very pleased with the results!

  • Lighting

Final light-shadow.jpg

Hope you like what I've done here :) I made sure not to make it a crowded scene with loads of clubbers. I wanted to concentrate more on the place as this is a concept piece.

What we see here is a small section of the club. The main area will be massive and have many attractions. Keep an eye out for more concept art from me :) I'm sure the final vision will be much different.


Hope you enjoyed this one! I'll have more DCL concept art coming soon. Stay tuned!

my logo.jpg

Sort:  

Very interesting and intricate!
Thanks for sharing and steem on :)

Thanks @jcsteem. it's just the start :)

Oh look who it is!!

CuratorSealOfApproval.png

Well done sir, great artistry as per usual.

The Curator

Thank you my fabulous automaton friend.

This is what I want, thank you for sharing

We should see it go live this year. Fingers crossed...

your picture is very-very good ok I've vote you have. do not forget also dead end vote got me.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stilgar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94