Oh My, Dragons! Collection of Fantasy Drawings featuring Dragons!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

Dragon-1.jpg

I never really considered myself a dragon artist, but statistically I do have quite of a few drawing featuring these fantastic beasts! Who doesn't love dragons? They're like dinosaurs, but much cooler and more intelligent. I love just how much variety there is between one dragon and another. I'll share with you some of my dragon drawings from recent years.

Light Dragon

Dragon-2.jpg

To celebrate the huge commission of adapting Bryan Davis' first novel, Raising Dragons, into a graphic novel, I illustrated a tribute to honor the author himself. Part of this illustration composed of two dragons dueling above his head, in his imagination. In the battle of good versus evil, this dragon represented the light side.

Dragon Line Art

Dragon-Final.jpg

While preparing to make the Raising Dragons Graphic Novel, I was making a number of dragon designs for the one in the book, Clefspeare. I really liked the design for the head for this one, but his arms were too human-like. Another thing I wasn't aware was how important it was to make the joint on the back large and believable, where the wing connects to the back muscles.

CLefspeare Prototype

Clefsphere-Sketch-2.jpg

This was another concept for Clefspeare, the main dragon from Raising Dragons. With this one I finalized his head design and I would use a similar pattern for the interior of his wings moving forward. I would, however, forgo the human-like arm design for more of a canine foreleg form.

Clefspeare Concept Art

Clefsphere-Final.jpg

This is the final design for Clefspeare, the dragon as seen in the Raising Dragons Graphic Novel. Since this drawing, however, I did update his wings so the flap didn't connect directly to the same joint as the wing arm, but further down the back for better support. There's still a lot I have to learn about when it comes to dragon anatomy.

Royal Lakebound

Royal-Lakebound-by-Jums.jpg

Javanshir's Lakebound is a great character, both in design and in color scheme. I declined to use a line art for this one and just relied on shapes and colors to give her form.

Crimson Glory

Crimson-Glory.jpg

This one features multiple characters from the creative mind of Alan Corona, including Crimson, Daisy, Jade, and Victor. I don't know the entire story, but from what I have been able to piece together it would make an epic series of graphic novels.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

Really cool drawings, @jamesartville ! Clefspeare is really nicely designed, he has both the classical look of a dragon from a fantasy book, but also quite a modern, clean design :)

Love the compilation of the characters also, and it's always nice to celebrate a project you are proud of :D :D :D

Thank you. All the practice was definitely put to good use :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84