Dragons in Our Midst Fan Art [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

Dragons-in-our-Midst-Header.jpg

My career as a professional illustrator took a huge step forward thanks to a single drawing. I was requested to draw a piece of fan art to give to best selling author, Bryan Davis, at a local book signing. When I gave it to him, featuring two of his most memorable characters, he was impressed and we began talking about adapting his story into a graphic novel. Years later, those conversations would lead to friendship and a partnership, with the eventual publication of the Raising Dragons Graphic Novel in 2015.

The Sketch

Dragons-in-our-Midst---Sketch.jpg

The premise for the drawing was simple. I was told to draw a girl with dragons wings flying through the air while holding a boy in her arms. At the time I made the drawing I hadn't read the story, so I had very little context. Nevertheless, I was intrigued by the idea of drawing something fantastic and unique.

The Line Art

Dragons-in-our-Midst---Lineart.jpg

When illustrating the line art, I was using my humble Wacom Bamboo Fun drawing tablet, the small one. The peripheral came bundled with Corel Painter Essentials and Adobe Photoshop Elements, which is what I used when making this artwork. My lines weren't aliased like I would do today, and I didn't understand smoothing yet so my lines are a bit raw and wiggly.

The Flat Colors

Dragons-in-our-Midst---Colors.jpg

During my early days of making digital art, my color choices were often bright and saturated. I have since moved away from the Saturday morning cartoon palette and switched to more cool and neutral tones. I find that the colors will become richer once I apply the shadows, highlights, and texture overlays.

The Finished Illustration

Dragons-in-our-Midst.jpg

Even though I would draw these two characters time and time again for the actual graphic novel adaptation, this image stands out as being different for several reasons. Their designs are pretty generic in this image. I would later cement their unique hair styles, apparel, and colors for easier identification and consistency.

Lastly, I used texture overlays in this illustration (ie: wings, jeans, etc) but I would forgo that in the graphic novel and use simple, solid colors. It would have taken me much longer if I illustrated every panel the same way I did this one drawing.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

That's such a milestone ! What a momentous image :) So wonderful that your partnership blossomed from such an organic serendipity :D I love that fanarts and fanfic and really, fan generated contents can sometimes propel people towards their greater success! I think this speaks that if we are passionate and if we put our best efforts into our endeavours, that it may open a path that previously unseen :D

It's interesting also the way you analyzed what you had done back then and the difference with which you have improved in your processes :)

Very cool post, @jamesartville <3

I am grateful for that first opportunity and every subsequent event afterward. I have since been commissioned for several other projects by that same author. He is a great person to work for :)

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14