Dark Hearts Commission of the Super-heroine, Dark Love [Process Drawing]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

Dark-Hearts-Header.jpg

A few months ago I shared with you a drawing I made of a commissioned super-heroine, Dark Love. This one is the follow up featuring the same character. I put more detail into her design, making it more elegant and less of a traditional superhero garb. This time, too, her powers are less flashy.

The Sketch

Dark-Hearts---Sketch.jpg

It's rare that I draw with pencil on actual paper these days. This one clearly shows its age, especially with how smudged the drawing became after all those years. Her first design took inspiration from Rapunzel, the princess. While she still retains the look of royalty, I wanted her to appear more mature and less child-like.

The Line Art

Dark-Hearts---Lineart.jpg

I didn't spare any details with the intricate design of her outfit. I even included metal trimmings on her skirt to help weight it down. I wanted to retain balance between refined and alluring. She has the power of love, after all, but she's no succubus. Quite the contrary, she most definitely fights for the force of goodness.

The Flat Colors

Dark-Hearts---Colors.jpg

She's not a powerpuff girl, that's for sure. I thought purple emphasized royalty well. I used two shades, one on each of of the spectrum. A dark blue-hued purple for her main garb and the lighter, more pink color for shines. Grey accent on her outfit does well to keep her neutral so that I could really show the aura and glow of her powers in the next stage of illustration.

The Finished Illustration

Dark-Hearts.jpg

I believed I used Corel Painter Essentials when coloring Dark Hearts. Painting the background sans line art was a new thing for me at the time. By using soft brushes to make it blurry, I didn't worry too much about the details. I used color holds to apply highlights to her line art and really make her supernatural powers shine. This one stands out to me as being pretty different when compared to my other art, in the best way possible.

James Art Ville Footer

Sort:  

I love the step by step guide explaining each stage and the thought processes involved. I have always wandered how these figures materialize and now I have a better idea. Thanks I certainly found the post entertaining and educational.

I'm happy to know my post was helpful to you! Best of luck to you and your art!

I am no artist, but find it fascinating how it all comes together. The way you showed how and what you did to achieve the final result was really an eye opener. Had no idea there were so many stages and it was like building layers.

Yes, layers are very important :)

Nice artwork.👍👏 Colors r more vivid in flat step

Posted using Partiko iOS

From the first step "The Sketch" looks awesome. Good work, @jamesartville

I love this heroine, the details are wonderful and she has a beautiful complexion. We need more minorities in the comic book genre.

Thank you very much for your words of encouragement.

OMG.... Lovely digital art work you have in there. This artwork is so so amazing. Great work and hope to see more awesome works from you soon

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad you like her. I will continue to post on a weekly basis!

OK.... Will be waiting every week then.

Posted using Partiko Android

She looks like she enjoys spreading love - what a cute heroine! I can see that the inspiration came from Rapunzel - e.g. the length of her hair :)

You got her proportions right and I like all the decorations on her dress. Purple was definitely a great choice - my favorite color as well :)

She looks focused on her tasks so that those hearts hit the right person ;)

Well done! Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

I appreciate your thorough feedback. Thank you for the support.

I love it, especially her dress and the background, you did a great job and thanks for the step by step tutorial. I've never tried digital art but I'm planning to. These will help me for sure.

I also find it helpful to read how other artists break down their illustration process. I'm glad mine was helpful to you.

Not only to me but I guess many can learn from it.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi jamesartville,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @jamesartville! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.97
ETH 2619.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80