One of My Paintings Saved from the Lava Flow AreasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago

While I was helping my friend recently move belongings to the next temporary place where we would stay next, it dawned on me that back on May 31, the day the lava was rushing down the hill from Noni Farms Road (which was about just 2 miles above where I used to live in Kapoho), after my friend's 20+ hours of flying back to Hawaii from Bali ... to come back to the Kapoho house for one final time, and then to quickly grab whatever you can in just one hour knowing that the lava flow would cut off access ... must have been stressful and tense

It took me around just 30 minutes to move things slowly from the upstairs to the car, so I can’t imagine what it was like to have to think quick and shove belongings into the car at moments notice back in May 31. 

Let alone, my other friend having to assume what I would want out of my room as well.

Both of them, having only around 30 minutes to grab whatever they could out of the 2 story house.

One of the items I noticed when I moved it, is the watercolor painting of a small village in France that I gave to Jack awhile ago. 

I’m happy to see that he had saved it from the lava.


(The painting I made of Santenay, France ... that survived the lava flow)

If you had less than 30 minutes to evacuate your house ... what would you save?


Sort:  

Congratulations @hustletoparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Are you Viet man? Yeah i agree on the Bitcoin Maximalist strategy during an alt run. It's easy to be blindsided by how massive the alt run was.

Congratulations @hustletoparadise! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07