Art by Harrison Kainoa 030: Charcoal Figure Drawing Study

in #art7 years ago


Charcoal Figure Drawing Study

Charcoal


This is a second charcoal drawing of a figure study. Unlike the first drawing where I'd start charcoaling the figure, I start here by covering the entire paper with charcoal, and then with my fingers blot out the figure, creating the white space.

I would then add in my darker shading by shading in charcoal as well as outlining the chair the figure sits on with some black strokes.

The many charcoal strokes across the paper really gives it a cool motion effect, that even though the figure is sitting, there is the illusion that movement is always around.


-------------------------------

Thanks for checking out my artwork. What do you think?

Follow me @hustletoparadise 

to stay up to date on future Art by Harrison Kainoa and check out my other artwork.

Sort:  

That is such an effective technique. Really unusual and gives such feeling.
I can't wait to see more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04