My Drawing of Frida Kahlo

in #art6 years ago

Happy Women's Day everyone!

To celebrate this day I wanted to draw an inspirational woman, so I thought that drawing Frida Kahlo is the perfect choice. Why? Because, Frida Kahlo was a Mexican artist who constantly fought for equality and social justice, and objected to US involvement in her country.

In order to show Frida's style I had to use colored pencils, which I almost never use. It was a little challenging, but I really enjoyed it, and I think I may even start use them more frequently :)

The process:

Step 1: General outlines using HB pencil

Step 2: Adding details

In order to have the correct hair movement, I drew the hair from the root close to the forehead.

After finishing with the hair around the face, I drew the hair band and added the flowers. I think I never drew realistic flowers before, but I think that for the first time drawing them, it came out pretty good. In order to draw the flowers I first drew the outer petals that and then the inner ones, so it will look like the outer are covering the inner ones.

When I drew the braids, I made sure that I to drew 2 layers. each time different layer covering the other layer of hair.

Step 3: coloring the face

Now, as mentioned before, I usually don't color my drawings so I'm not really good at it. I also don't have many coloring pencils (I only have few metallic color pencils).

In order to color the face I used lightly brown shade of pencil. I add extra shade on the darker areas, like under the jew, around the eyes and on the around the jew line. 

Step 4: Coloring the flowers, lips, blouse and jewelry 

To color the flowers, I first outlines the general lines of the flowers. I made sure it was bold enough so the it's shape and outlines will be visible after I color the inside of the flower's leaves.

The lips, blouse and the jewelry I made sure to make it bold and vivid like it's usually shown on Frida's portraits.  

I also added another layer to the skin color and added some blush to her cheeks. 

Step 6: Coloring the hair.

For coloring the hair I used the same technique I used on step 2, but this time I used darker pencil- 7BH pencil.  I drew the hair for on the same direction, from the root to the edge. Also when I I filled the braided part of the hair, the eyebrows and the eyelashes I made sure to drew it on the same direction.

Hope you enjoyed this blog post, because I sure enjoyed writing it :)

Sort:  

Wow amazing drawing . I appreciate your art . Best of luck .

Thanks! Glad you like it

really nice drawing . and thanks for your advice

Thank you, hope to see one of your's soon :)

Beautiful drawing of Frida @helenril!

excellent drawing !!!
You have a lot talent

wow muy lindo dibujo y una gran artista, quedo muy muy bueno

Looks beautiful, make sure you keep practicing

Thanks, I sure will and sure post more of my drawing soon.

Very good drawing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47