Girl with Yellow Scarf - Watercolor

in #art7 years ago (edited)

gabrielvalles.com_Watercolor_tb.jpg
After years of digital painting I really wanted to start doing traditional work. I was always interested in watercolor but my early attempts years ago were really horrible so I put it aside. This is my first attempt after many years.

There is nothing fancy here, I used student grade paint and paper and the brushes I found at a "Tuesday Morning" discount store. (they actually have really good deals on art supplies occasionally) I bought cheap supplies as I wasn't expecting to get good results and just wanted to practice but this turned out to be one of my favorite pieces.

The hair was inspired by one of my student. I was deliberately trying not to just draw the same formula hair that I naturally draw and since have made a point of trying to push the hair or the fashion.

I hope you enjoy it! If so please upvote, follow and reseteem :)

Find more of my work at https://www.instagram.com/gabrielvallesart/ and https://gabrielvalles.myportfolio.com/

gabrielvalles.com_Watercolor_000.png

gabrielvalles.com_Watercolor_001.jpeg

gabrielvalles.com_Watercolor_002.jpeg

Sort:  

I love her cartoony look! Her eyes, lips, hair all look great! I envy people who can paint with watercolors so well haha, never been a good watercolor painter. Great work!

I'll follow along to see more

No problem! I want to see more of your work :) Keep it up!

I like the complimentary color scheme, so striking and nice to look at. Also, I love "Tuesday Morning." I do all my gift shopping there.

Thank you! Yes, I stalk Tuesday morning waiting for new cheap art supplies. haha! the people there remember me now.

Nice artwork, nothing beats the relaxed feeling in drawing on a paper 😁

Thanks! Yeah, It's great I hope to do more watercolor when I get a chance.

I really really love this!!!! She's adorable and I really like the colors you have there! I'm no artist but I can tell art is good when I see it! Well done!

Thanks! I read a couple of your article too. Keep at it, it is good work. :)

This is beautiful!!! You're inspiring me to break out my watercolors next time I'm going to color a drawing. I honestly can't remember the last time I painted a person... which is funny, since that's 90% of what I draw. lol

Keep posting your gorgeous work, I'm sure you'll have a big following before long!

Thanks! I'd love to see some watercolors from you.

Thanks! I've got a few watercolor projects in the works, but find I'm often short on time to make much headway. (Hoping to have a new one up in the next week or so.) There's a finished painting of a whale here in my intro though. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58948.02
ETH 2507.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47